1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ATT Signals in NYC on HTC Inspire

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lenny.yu, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. lenny.yu

    lenny.yu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I working in downtown NYC, and I have been noticed that I will get okay cell signals during the morning hours say 7-10am and as days goes on, my signals strength will drop and by afternoon, I am dead in the water.

    Any idea why is that, could this be caused by number of people on the network? This is the only thing i can think of...
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ
    yea it is that NYC has a high AT&T subscriber rate it shouldnt die al together though
     
  3. lenny.yu

    lenny.yu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Well, I can make calls, but my data won't work. and also the cell bar is only about 1-2 bars at most.
     
  4. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    233
    18
    38
    I can understand the cell network getting loaded up later in the day, but the fact that your signal strength drops off is odd. You may want to stop by wherever you bought it and compare it to another Inspire. Doing it there would make it easier to trade for a new one if your's is reading low.

    As an experiment, try recharging the phone in the afternoon and see what you get, but it doesn't really matter, it shouldn't change.
     
  5. Allenfx

    Allenfx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    340
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    340
    48
    43
    SouthEast
    You most likely know better than me but as i recall form the year i spent in NYC signal strenght would vary wildly around town depending on where you were in the city and what time of day it was (i accepted that as normal??)
     
  6. lenny.yu

    lenny.yu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I have Iphone b4, I can force the phone to use Edge Network and it will be fine.. but for this Inspire, I don't know how to do it....

    I hate city, and I don't want to switch to Sprint, suppose their signal is the best around here, but out in jersey, their signal is very bad.
     
  7. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    233
    18
    38
    Wait, I assumed that you're reporting varying signal levels at the same location. Are you seeing trouble in your office throughout the day, or are you seeing variations as you move around the city? The first case is a problem IMHO, but the second case is normal.
     
  8. lenny.yu

    lenny.yu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I am seeing the problem in my office throughout the day... Usually the signal is good during early morning time, and starts to degrade as we reach noon and afternoon.

    Happened on this Inspire and Iphone, What I did on the Iphone is turn off the 3G only use the edge network and it will be fine
     
  9. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    233
    18
    38
    Huh, I can't imagine why the carrier would drop transmitter levels throughout the day. If you saw it with other phones, sounds like it's really happening, but I have no idea why. Like I said, about all you can do is compare it to another Inspire and see if it reads the same number of bars - or switch to a different carrier if it's a serious problem.
     
  10. harlenm

    harlenm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    148
    7
    36
    When more people are on the network, the area covered shrinks. So your signal level will appear lower as the cell site you are connected to reaches capacity.
     
  11. lenny.yu

    lenny.yu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Arrgh, ATT need to upgrade their capacity....
     
  12. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    233
    18
    38
    You know that for a fact? Interesting bit of information.
     
  13. MassacrMan

    MassacrMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    482
    53
    53
    They are working on rolling out more of those HSPA+ towers at the moment, you'll get great service very soon I bet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...