1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Attempted rooting - unsuccessful

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MstrG, May 7, 2012.

  1. MstrG

    MstrG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hello.

    I attempted to root my Triumph today because I've been running out of memory (a problem described in other threads). I did not write down every step, but I think I can relate the relevant ones. Forgive what might be mistakes in terminology, this is my first time trying this.

    1- I successfully installed CWM 7, booted to the CWM menu, and made a backup. When I rebooted, the phone successfully started up.

    2- I downloaded ES File Explorer from Google Market.

    3- I downloaded Gingerbreak 1.2 from xda-developers (can't post link)

    4- I connected the phone to my PC via USB and dropped that apk into the top level displayed in Windows Explorer. I disconnected the phone from the PC, then turned on USB debugging and allow unknown sources.

    5- I installed Gingerbreak using ES File Explorer and ran it. I selected root, and it began the process. It rebooted the phone itself.

    6- When the phone rebooted, it seemed to be ok, but I soon found out I had no connection to the Internet, even though it said my WiFi was connected. I rebooted and tried again with no success.

    7- I decided to boot to CWM and restore back to before I rooted. The restore process seemed to work fine, but when I selected reboot system from the CWM menu, the phone started up by showing the Motorola Logo, but remained stuck there. It did not vibrate at all.

    8- Since then, I've tried several things, including downloading the stock Triumph from a thread no this forum. The result is the same.

    9- I tried factory reset several ways, same result. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling CWM.

    Everything I do results in the same thing: the phone starts up showing the Motorola Logo, and goes no further.

    The phone is still able to go into download mode.

    I've read it's about impossible to brick this thing, so please help me out if you can. I'll return to this thread in about 8 hours. Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. JALStudios

    JALStudios Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    12
    38
    Online YouTuber
    Well here is what i would suggest do!

    Flash a custom rom on your Triumph!

    I would suggest CM7 Tickerguy Reloaded FINAL (Check All Things Root Guide)

    You may also need to make sure that you have the newest CWM Recovery installed and make sure that Superuser and Busybox are installed also...(Can get in the Play Store)


    If you phone still shows a logo then you still have life in your phone! If when you boot it up it does not show anything then you are probably bricked!


    Good Luck!
     
  3. Hadesminion13

    Hadesminion13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    43
    4
    16
    I totally agree with JALStudios, but instead of CM7 reloaded I'd recommend g60's CM7. Slightly more updated with a few fixes and additions, and I don't think there's anything bad about it.

    If you don't want a custom ROM, root it via terminal. (If you don't know how to do this and are interested I'll provide a link, let me know.
     
  4. JALStudios

    JALStudios Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    12
    38
    Online YouTuber
    I have flashed the TickerGuy Reloaded and the G60 Roms and I prefer the Tickerguy version for only 1 reason! The battery life is better on the Tickerguy version than on the G60! This is probably because of the 360 Launcher it uses!

    Either way they are both GREAT roms and you should try both and see which one fits you better!!
     
  5. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Not sure if the launcher has anything to do with it. Something may be keeping your phone awake.
     
  6. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Simplistic approach flash either b_kernal or mantras oc kernel make sure you get the 2.2 kernel.
    That's just if the full rom thing is a little intimidating I know when I first rooted my intercept I just flashed a rooted custom kernal and its less hair raising no need to wipe anything.
     
  7. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    I also agree with the above, one of the most difficult parts of flashing the triumph is correctly getting cwm.recovery on, so ur best off just flashing a custom rom because custom Roms are "OPEN" basically, no rooting needed

    Which cm 7 are you speaking of jal, tg final cm7, or whyzors cm7 Tg reloaded 3-25?

    I personally prefer the whyzor cm7 tg reloaded 3-25, I be tryied the g60, also a very nice rom, I just don't like 360 launchers Chinese lol
     
  8. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    #1, Do you mean you installed CM7? Or CWM? If CWM, which version (there is no CWM 7)?

    #2, Did you format /system in CWM? If so did you install any ROM (stock or otherwise) after doing that?
     
  9. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles
    I see you got "ClockWordMod Recovery" and "Cyanogenmod 7" confused... and called them both "CWM7" which is horribly wrong.


    look, you got clockworkmod, now install cm7 from inside it, reboot, and you will have

    1. root

    2. upgrade to android 2.37 from 2.2 that u are on now

    3. a much better phone.

    4. a fix for that memory issue. rooting the stock rom wont help that rom is broken.
     
  10. MstrG

    MstrG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    0
    5

    Sorry for the confusion, yes, I installed CWM 5504. I found a link for that in the "all things root" thread on this forum. I know nothing about ROMs, though obviously had seen the CM7 acronym someplace in my searching yesterday.

    I did do format/system in CWM later on (prior to trying to load the stock Triumph restore), but installed no ROMs. Everyone seems to be pointing to a ROM as the solution here. Would someone point me to a thread describing how to do that, please? Also, I'm curious what happened - I followed the instructions precisely in steps 1-5 above.
     
  11. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    After you wiped /system, you don't have any OS anymore (not sure why you had issues before that).

    You flash the ROM in recovery (install zip from sd card). Check out the root guide for a list of ROMs. Decide what you want to have on there and flash that (I won't make the decision on what ROM to run, that is up to you and what you want from your phone).
     
  12. MstrG

    MstrG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Thank you - I will try to flash a ROM tonight.
     
  13. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Let's keep this thread focused on helping the OP with their issue. ROMs/launchers/etc can be discussed in the appropriate places.
    Thanks. ;)
     
  14. MstrG

    MstrG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Just to be clear, in step 1, I did a full backup using CWM, which includes the OS, yes? Shouldn't the restore from that have worked?
     
  15. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Yeah.

    Pull the battery, hold down the power button for 30 seconds, then reinsert the battery. Then try booting into CWM. As long as you didn't wipe stuff from the sd card you can restore the nandroid. You do that through the backup/restore option.
     
  16. MstrG

    MstrG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Yeah, I did that several times with the same result, stuck on the M logo when it tries to boot up. I also tried to restore the stock backup, with the same result. This all leads me to believe there's something else going on, given I have CWM working and can't load what's known to be a good nandroid backup.

    And yes, I've looked at the SD card, nothing is gone from there.
     
  17. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Are you able to flash a different ROM? It may be a CWM issue.
     
  18. JALStudios

    JALStudios Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    12
    38
    Online YouTuber
    I have also found out that when you are flashing the Rom that if you transfer from a certain Rom to another then you need to Wipe/Factory Reset your Triumph. Such as if you went from CM7 to CM9. If you just flash an update of that same Rom such as CM7 to CM7 then you don't have to Wipe/Factory Reset. I would suggest Wiping the Cache though.

    Also I HIGHLY suggest that you don't Wipe the system! I have never Wiped the system before and I have not had a single problem!
     
  19. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    Wipe data/factory reset wipes the system doesnt it?, are you saying you have never done wipe data/ factory reset?? cache and dalvik cache hold Misc. data, but wipe data/ factory reset wipes everything if i recall right

    i accidentally rebooted my phone after wipe data/ factory reset and it wont boot cause the system isnt there


    i personally just to be safe every single time do

    1. wipe data/ factory reset
    2. wipe cache
    3. wipe dalvik cache
    4. wipe battery stats
    5. install Rom, gapps, gapps new talk
    6. reboot
    7. skip google sign in till i connect my wifi

    and so far ive never run into a single issue, except if you consider not being able to stop flashing and trying different roms a issue lol
     
  20. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Wipe data/factory reset doesn't wipe /system. It does wipe /data and /cache (and something else I am forgetting, but it isn't /system).


    That being said wiping /system won't hurt anything when flashing ROMs.


    Also, let's keep the discussion focused on helping the OP with their issue.
     
  21. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    i got ya, i didnt realize he was speaking of /system, i just thought he was saying system in general
     
  22. MstrG

    MstrG Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    OK, CM7 (Tickerguy 0.8 Final) loaded and the phone booted to it. WiFi and phone are both working. Doesn't seem real stable, though. Twice the screen has frozen and the phone turned itself off - could only get it to start up by pulling the battery. The freezes occurred 1. during a phone call while typing in my VM password, and 2. after I had clicked the icon to get to the apps list. I will play with it some more...

    My questions now:

    - Is there a more stable version for the Triumph?

    - I have a saved backup of my SD card (on my PC) which contains many of the apps I was using on the stock phone. Can I reinstall those apps from there if I move them back onto the SD card?

    - Is there a guide describing all the features and settings of CM7?

    - I haven't loaded Google Apps yet - can I do that using the ROM Manager app, or should I use CWM?

    - If I have further questions, should I post them in a different thread/forum?

    Thank you all for the help getting me here. At least I have basic phone, internet and texting again.
     
  23. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Both CM7 tg-reloaded 3-25 and CM7 g60Style R0.5 are newer than the tg final b0.8

    i use the reloaded personally(but its no longer in development)

    g60style is still being updated and developed currently so to most users this one is the front runner


    but both reloaded and g60style are both stable and amazing


    about apps, i personally download them over again thru the market once it updates to google play
     

Share This Page

Loading...