1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Attention if you use Engadget app : Battery life tip

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by inphoenix, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. inphoenix

    inphoenix Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    152
    29
    63
    in Phoenix. Duh!
    I found something weird that I want to bring to Engadget app user's attention.

    The battery usage on my Droid X went up by 100% the day I installed a few apps. It didn't make much sense as there were no widgets or any other constant data use application.

    But I went into settings of Engadget and I see that widget update time is set to 5 minutes by default. Now, I don't use widget and would think that this should be turned off by default. It appears as if it is being updated every 5 minutes even if you don't use it.

    Turn it off, and be careful not to hit back button. If you hit back it will not save the change. Instead hit the check sign for the Engadget version you want to use. This will save the setting.

    Not sure how much impact will it have on the battery life but it seems weird that they would set it to 5 minutes by default.

    Maybe they are messing with Android users being the iPhoneFanboy site that they are. :D

    EDIT : I rebooted my phone and guess what? The setting is back to 5 minutes. I had to go back in and change it never update manually. This is not cool Engadget. :(
     

    Advertisement

    Scrodus, ricker666 and mandophish like this.
  2. FoxtrotUniform

    FoxtrotUniform Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    103
    34
    63
    U.S. Military
    Washington State
    Hmm, mine was set to 1 hour updates, but I went ahead and turned it off since I don't use the widget. Thanks for the heads up though! Also, the top story right now is how Android is now the best selling mobile OS :D
     
  3. brent.murray84

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks bud!!!! I didn't even have the widget selected and it was updating every 5 minutes!!!! CRAZY!!! Enjoying more batt life now... THX!!!
     
  4. mandophish

    mandophish Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I noticed this when I checked the settings after installing the app a month ago and set it to off, but never thought to post it here.

    thanks!
     
  5. ricker666

    ricker666 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    Lincoln, UK
    Hmmmm how bizarre! I too wasn't using the widget but was set to update! thanks for the tip!
     
  6. inphoenix

    inphoenix Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    152
    29
    63
    in Phoenix. Duh!
    Read the EDIT in OP. Even if you set it to never update it will go back to 5 minute setting if you ever reboot the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...