1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support AudioManager Pro - Notification Volume Problem w SGS2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Puddin422, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    I've been using AudioManager for forever because it links your ringer and notification volume (so they stay the same volume as each other). I just installed it on my SGS2 last night, but it doesn't seem to override the factory notification volume.

    Anyone else using this app and having a problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ranphi

    ranphi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    Did you ever manage to sort this issue out with your SGS2 and AudioManager? Just curious because I actually stumbled across another, older post of yours where you first made the discovery about how AudioManager can link the ringer and notifications volumes in its settings and that's a solution I was looking for to use with my own AT&T SGS2.

    I downloaded the free version of AudioManager tonight to try it out and at first was encountering the same issue you state above where it wouldn't retain the link setting for those 2 volumes. However, after rebooting my phone it seems to be working correctly and is maintaining the linked volumes. (Now, whether that will last or not over more time and testing...).

    Thanks for your posts sharing the info about this feature in AudioManger! It's really stupid for Samsung not to have this feature built right into their Android phones!!
     
  3. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    It shows that the volumes are linked, but the notification is at least twice as loud as the ringtone. Maybe I'll try another ringtone?? I may try a "stock" one just to see.

    But I have to have the volume on 1 or 2 to keep the notification sound from being SUPER loud. But at that volume, I can't hear the ringer. I generally keep my phone at 4 volume, but at that volume, notifications will startle me. lol :(
     
  4. ranphi

    ranphi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    Hmmm...that's odd. Mine's been working just fine ever since I did that reboot and I don't notice any difference in the volume level for the ringtone versus the notification tone. (And I'm not using stock tones either. Both my ringtone and notification tone are ones I downloaded via the Zedge app).
     

Share This Page

Loading...