1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

General auto dismiss kitkat update notification

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by azhummer, Apr 26, 2014.

  1. azhummer

    azhummer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013

    Dec 27, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Refuse to lose FoxFi wifi.. Is there a way to avoid having the update available popup come up every 24 hours? (thats the max "update later" time i can set every day for the past few months)..

    Thx in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,893
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    If the phone is rooted, freeze the update app. Otherwise you can have Tasker dismiss the notification as soon as it comes up with a pretty simple task.
     
  3. azhummer

    azhummer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013

    Dec 27, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Scottsdale, AZ
    thx.. not rooted so have to go tasker route.. already bought tasker a while ago, just havent used it.. heres my initial popup.. http://snag.gy/Znyy0.jpg so ill make an if task? anyone know tasker well enough to help? if i hit install later it brings up a clock with current time, i roll back one minute and hit install later again.. it then says it will remind me in 23 hrs 59min...
     
  4. azhummer

    azhummer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013

    Dec 27, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Scottsdale, AZ
    actually just found out i can "disable" the "Updater" without root.. maybe this will do it.. unfortunately motorolaOTA cant be disabled..
     

Share This Page

Loading...