• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Auto SMS after X number of rings?

xmizer

Lurker
Mar 24, 2013
I'm new to Tasker and I've been reading up but I'm still confused.
What I want to do is replace voicemail with an auto-SMS reply that says something along the lines, "I'm unable to take your call at this moment but if you leave me your name, number, or e-mail, I'll try to get back to you as soon as possible."

The reason I am doing this is because voicemail is extra with my plan and it's very expensive. I want to send the auto-SMS after 5 or 6 rings, and I have no idea how to do this.

I will be grateful towards anybody who can help me with this.

Thanks.

Profile: Missed call (57)
Event: Missed Call [ Caller:* ]
Enter: Anon (56)
A1: Variable Set [ Name:%NUMCALLS To:1 Do Maths:On Append:Off ] If [ %MISSED ! Set ]
A2: Variable Set [ Name:%LASTMISSED To:none Do Maths:Off Append:Off ] If [ %MISSED ! Set ]
A3: Variable Set [ Name:%LASTMISSED To:%MISSED Do Maths:Off Append:Off ] If [ %MISSED Is Set ]
A4: Variable Set [ Name:%MISSED To:%CNUM Do Maths:Off Append:Off ]
A5: Goto [ Type:Action Number Number:8 Label: ] If [ %LASTMISSED ~ none ]
A6: Variable Add [ Name:%NUMCALLS Value:1 Wrap Around:0 ] If [ %MISSED ~ %LASTMISSED ]
A7: Variable Clear [ Name:%MISSED Pattern Matching:Off ] If [ %MISSED !~ %LASTMISSED ]
A8: Send SMS [ Number:%CNUM Message:I am busy.Call me later please. Store In Messaging App:On ] If [ %NUMCALLS > 3 ]
A9: Variable Clear [ Name:%MISSED Pattern Matching:Off ] If [ %NUMCALLS > 3 ]

Upvote 0
The missed call described is very logical approach. Along with that, you'll have to simply disable your voicemail. Otherwise people are going to leave a message before they get your text message (although they may learn over time that you don't want voicemails).