1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Automatic update apps not automatically updating?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by blewis1984, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. blewis1984

    blewis1984 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Is this a known problem?

    I have automatic updates checked on all of my apps, but I still have to go in and manually check for/download updates.

    Is there a fix for this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Which apps? I don't see the option to automatically update on any apps...?
     
  3. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    537
    55
    98
    socal
    in the market you can set individual apps to automatically update . Mine do it fine but are always some that need manual update
     
  4. blewis1984

    blewis1984 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I see that some have to be done manually, but even the ones that are suppose to do it on their own, don't. I have to still open the market and check for updates myself.
     
  5. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    Yea, I think its a known issue. My stuff never updates until I open the market. Its wonky. Nothing you can really do about it sadly, just live and let live.
     
  6. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    They don't update as soon as the update is available, it waits for a certain time then does them.

    Guess it's a battery saver.
     
  7. TonyG

    TonyG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    117
    3
    36
    Male
    R&D
    MA
    [repeat]
     
  8. TonyG

    TonyG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    117
    3
    36
    Male
    R&D
    MA
    I believe the update process is poorly designed; too many apps are trying to update simultaneously--and the process just hangs... I have to cancel the updates and repeat the process one by one. Moto Droid Original.

    --tonyg
     
  9. DavidWSnow

    DavidWSnow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I use AppBrain for Updates. It takes a snapshot of the apps in the phone and compares this with the apps in the Android Market. It will automatically sync by hour, day, week or when you click on "manual". I chose manual since when I was working on the phone I wanted it often for new apps I was selecting via the web, and also I didn't want the phone deciding that the time to sync and upgrade was when I needed the phone or was driving etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...