1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Automatically booting directly into ClockWork Recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheBandit181, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. TheBandit181

    TheBandit181 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    27
    2
    16
    On my previous devices, OG Droid, Incredible, I had to press and hold a button while powering up to boot into recovery. On my Thunderbolt, every time I power on my phone it boots directly into recovery, even if I only press the power button and no others. Today I had my first random reboot and it booted into recovery and the screen was on for at least an hour in my pocket.

    Is this recovery boot process by design, or did I do something wrong? If I did something wrong, any ideas on what I can do to fix it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheBandit181

    TheBandit181 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    27
    2
    16
  3. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    I can't even boot into recovery from power off. Want to switch?
     
  4. Droopie28

    Droopie28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    72
    4
    16
    Im having the same problem, and that fix didnt work for me, also i cant turn my phone off, it turns off, then all of a sudden cw recovery just pops up
     
  5. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Does that happen without it being plugged in?
     
  6. Droopie28

    Droopie28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    72
    4
    16
    no, but as soon as I plug it in to charge (bump cahrge), it boots to cwr
     
  7. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Yep.. they'll get it fixed. For now, unfortunately, no bump charging for you.
     
  8. chrisjm00

    chrisjm00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    180
    9
    36
    Military
    Baltimore, MD
    Go ahead and flash a custom rom. Battery life is great. No bloat to drain the battery so bump charging isn't a huge issue.
     
  9. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Well, I'm rooted and my battery life is fine WHILE I'M USING IT. At night it runs down to nothing and cuts off no matter what the charge level was before. Any ideas? SetCPU doesn't seem to work until we get a custom kernel. What's funny is for the first few days of owning this thing it was fine. It only used maybe 10 percent overnight. But now it uses all of it.

    I have done all of the saving tips and really don't have anything different than from my Dinc. I'm at a loss here.
     
  10. chrisjm00

    chrisjm00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    180
    9
    36
    Military
    Baltimore, MD
    Any new apps or changes since you started getting bad battery life? Any updates to apps? Maybe some settings were defaulted when an app updated itself?
     
  11. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Setcpu does work on stock kernel. But your nighttime problem is troublesome since it should throttle down to 245. You using night clock or something like that?
     
  12. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No. My setup is almost identical to what I had on my Dinc and there were no problems there. I run Setcpu and when I underclock it it will still shoot up to 1024 and stay there. So, I'm getting no help from that.

    I have minimal syncing going on, low backlight, etc...Something is just eating it up.
     
  13. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    What kind of signal are you getting at your house? Take a look at the battery stats and report what your % of cell standby time without signal is.
     
  14. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I am 100% wifi at my house.
     
  15. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    Yeah but that's just for data. The phone will still try to connect to towers for the cell and txt part. If you get poor reception it can kill a battery.
     
  16. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Turn fast boot on ;)
     
  17. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Well, I'm still having problems. Funny that I get great battery life when I'm using it but not when it's asleep. Last night I was able to charge it to 100%, unplug it then go to bed. When I woke up I had 49%. Here are the battery stats for that period:

    http://img862.imageshack.us/img862/1061/screenshot2r.png

    edit: fixing my image
     
  18. tbcpn

    tbcpn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    26
    11
    18
    PDX
    Didn't help me. Tried, repeatedly, the steps here CWM Problems - xda-developers , but my T-bolt still boots to CWR if I plug the charger in while the phone is powered down.
     
  19. ghlancaster

    ghlancaster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    student
    Baltimore
    mine as well, I've tried many different combinations of roms, themes and kernels and still its the same result. It also appears my phone will not fast boot and I have no idea why.
     
  20. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yep same thing is happening with mine. I can't get fast boot to work either, in fact the only time mine has ever worked was when I first installed Virus Rom. Stock never worked, after I rooted and installed the new stock ROM didn't work, and it doesn't work on Das Bamf either.

    I'm thinking it is an app I have installed that doesn't like it, however I don't care about it enough to go through trouble shooting which app it is.
     
  21. Jerzboi

    Jerzboi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    48
    1
    16

    After reading about the fast boot method, I tried it didn't work...then I turned off data and all running apps...It worked now I can charge w/phone off
     
  22. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hmmmm that would seem to point to my theory that it is an app that is causing the problems with fastboot. I will try your method (kill all of my apps with System Panel) and let you guys know if that works. I don't see any problems killing all apps if you are powering down.
     
    McLabia likes this.
  23. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #185
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    Found this over at thunderboltforum.com
    All credit goes to a guy names FlyersFan121. I have yet to try this but i will this weekend.

     
  24. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    its interesting that that works,if it does. it sounds like way too much trouble for a lil bit of extra charge,for me anyway. :eek:

    i guess if you only had to do that process once it wouldnt be so bad,but if you gotta do that every monring to bump charge it sounds like a hassle.
     
  25. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #185
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    Yeah that is what i was thinking too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...