1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Available Ram?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Geeb, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. Geeb

    Geeb Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Hi all, I was wondering what was everyone else seeing in
    terms of available ram when all apps are closed? I usually hover around 90 to 100 ram available out of the total 325. Is this typical? Thanks! After restarting the phones and running task killer I am now showing 100-140+ ram available!
     

    Advertisement

  2. burningembers

    burningembers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    331
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Portland, OR
    Seems about right to me...

    I'm curious, too, if anyone knows if the Android 2.1 OS can see/address all 384MB of RAM or if we'll see an improvement there when Froyo rolls around?
     
  3. Geeb

    Geeb Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Ive been experimenting with downloading apps, it seems that once an app is installed, ram is being use EVEN when the newly installed app is not running like some sort of memory leak, But rebooting the phone and running task killer brings the available ram WAY back up.
     
  4. CureMS

    CureMS Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    106
    20
    58
    Housing Counselor/Consultant
    NJ
  5. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    The Captivate squeezes out 336MB to the Fascinates 325MB. But both phones boast 512MB.

    Very interesting article here.

    How much RAM does the Fascinate REALLY have?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Droidable

    Droidable Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    173
    10
    38
    If i kill everything im around 120-130 but usually operating between 50-80.
     
  7. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    302
    45
    43
    For all of you, NEVER use the task killer.
    Android OS manages memory on its own.
    Letting task killer kill apps may create problem.
    Free memory = WASTED memory
    Used memory = reserved for caching.
    When you back out of apps properly, they are put in sleep mode.
    NO NEED to kill the apps.
    Hey MOD, can we get a sticky on proper memory management?
     
  8. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    The Fascinate has an onboard task manager. That is what everyone is referring too here. If this were an Application thread, i could see a MOD wanting to post a sticky. However, this is not a discussion on task managers.
     
  9. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    302
    45
    43
    I guess I missed that part.
    I was simply pointing out the fact that how people get worried when they see their memory filled up and wanting to kill apps when in fact those apps are sleeping.
    I have not used anything earlier than 2.1, was the memory management not as good back then? I ask because ATK has been very popular and people are only now noticing that you really don't need it, in fact it does more harm.
     
  10. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    Right. I totally understand why you were giving the heads up. Everyone here was comparing when you end all tasks on the onboard task manager. It gives you a brief summary of remaining RAM. Thus, the confusion on why it states 512MB on spec sheets, but the phone only shows us 325MB.
     
  11. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    Yes. Before 2.1, there were memory leak issues. Task killers were more than necessary. Now, 2.1 does a decent job and 2.2 does a tremendous job.
     
    ghdtpdna likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...