1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root b4 i download a custom ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cookie_monster, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA
    ok b4 i go and maybe mess things up when i am downloading a custom rom what should i be looking at. I see 5 or so link for different downloads for the same rom cause of MD5sums and how do i know if i am downloading the right one?

    anything i should be looking out for on the radios also? How do i know if i need to falsh a new radio?


    i have installed alot of custom roms b4 from other phone and this one is just plain confusing me (TB) that is

    I am rooted and have a backup.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I would suggest trying the newest version of the rom, when you check the MD5 you should be able to verify if it is a valid file.

    Flash a radio in hboot, check out the stickys for links to download and how to flash. Flash the radio before the rom but have the rom downloaded, once the radio is flashed then delete the zip for the radio. I like the 3rd leaked radio, but YMMV
     
  3. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA
    what am i checking the md5 for and against what?
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I assumed the rom you were downloading has a md5 sum along with it, usually in the OP. You want to make sure they match, this is even more true with radios.
     
  5. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA

    ok that what i needed to know i did look into one syengry or whatever its called and downloaded the rom and md5 and checked the rom and the md5 that came with it and it didnt match
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Delete, download again, check again...Or make a backup, wipe, flash and hope everything goes alright but be prepared to pull your battery and restore your backup


    If it is in red it is likely the worst advise I have ever given on this forum
     
  7. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA

    Thank you for the help i did download bamf and check the download with the md5 under the link and that one came out clean now how do i know if i am on the right radio or do i download the one your talking about and go for it
     
  8. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA
    i just found out i have the mr2 radio lol
     
  9. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    MR2 radio *should* be fine. I like the improvements made on some of the newer ones personally.
     
    cookie_monster likes this.
  10. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA
    instead of starting a new thread cont. on this one.


    ok i am going to run shifts3ns3 by the3oryrom

    its a 3.0 rom and so say i dont like it or w/e reason can i just restore my froyo "stock" backup and be good?:thinking:


    Yeahha you should be a mod or something like that your all over this forum helping everyone
     
  11. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yeah that would be fine. Either flash a new rom or restore your backup if you don't like theory's rom. I suggest the former makes it more fun to try new things out IMO ;)

    :) If only they would ask ;)
     
  12. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA

    Former??? i am lost lol
     
  13. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Former in this case would be flash a new rom instead of restoring a backup.
     

Share This Page

Loading...