• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Back button not real back button - Won't open last application

Hello,

Got a new Desire Z last week, still am learning the ropes. Have come from a Blackberry, this is my first time posting here.

I would like to ask why the back button doesn't work as a proper back button. When I open an application (say facebook for example) and press the home button, it returns to the home screen fine, but logic dictates that pressing back should go back to the last application open, so pressing back should open facebook again.

Every other program / device I've used does this, even Microsoft can work this one out with their media centre!

Is there anyway to fix this?

(btw have tried to search google and this forum for answers, but I've had no luck)

Thanks

I would like to ask why the back button doesn't work as a proper back button. When I open an application (say facebook for example) and press the home button, it returns to the home screen fine, but logic dictates that pressing back should go back to the last application open, so pressing back should open facebook again.

Is there anyway to fix this?

There is no fix because it's not broken. That's the way Android is designed. When you open an app the back button will take you back one screen at a time through that app until you reach the home screen. At that point the app is essentially closed. It will not take you to the previous app used.