1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Back up first?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jmeiii, Feb 6, 2011.

1. Jmeiii

Jmeiii Newbie

I just download z4root. I'm totally new to the whole rooting thing and was just wandering if I should back up my phone t my computer before doing it? ( Didn't see it mentioned in the rooting guide.)

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Bankswood

Bankswood Android Expert

Best thing to do is use Z4Root to root your phone (use permanent). Download Koush's Bootstrap Recovery. Bootstrap into clockwork mod recovery by using bootstrap. Then backup your present setup (stock) to your SD Card. (When you hit backup it will automatically put the back up on your SD Card. Reboot. Then if you want to backup your SD Card to your computer you can.

Before you install a custom rom install Titanium Back up and back up all your apps and data.

Questions ??? Fire away!!

Jmeiii likes this.
  3. Jmeiii

Jmeiii Newbie