1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Background app using 3g??

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Syao, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. Syao

    Syao Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hey people, my first post in the forums!

    I've been looking for this answer but I couldn't find it anywhere, even here in the forums! Recently I installed 3G Watchdog Pro version on my Samsung Galaxy S, and when I saw that something used 20kb a few seconds later, I decided to see what was it. Two things that I can't understand:

    1) 3G Watchdog says tht only 20kb where used, but if you open the usage per app, it shows WAY more than that (it was around 300kb, roughly 15 times more). Why is that?

    2) The things that used 3G the most where 2 blocks of information. I will list then and try my best to put some of then in English and a few are in my mother language:

    - Block one:
    Caller (translated)
    SimDetachNotifier
    Caller's Storage (translated)
    Calls (translated)
    SIM's Kit
    wipeoutreceiver
    CSC
    DataCreate

    -Block two:
    Network Location (translated)
    Mobile Tracker
    Self Test Mode
    com.sec.android.app.lcdtest
    com.samsung.InputEventApp
    Configurations (translated)
    PhoneSetupWizard
    Error (what is that???)
    Syncronization and accounts configurations (translated)
    Device Management
    WlanTest
    Configuration's Storage (translated)
    CP Message
    VPN Services (translated)
    Mobile Tracker
    Factory Test
    Task Manager (translated)Android System (translated)
    Service mode
    BluetoothTest
    Perso
    Preconfig
    BrcmBluetoothServices
    google Backup Transport

    Could you guys give me a help? If that consumed 300kb in a few seconds, it will kill my data plan (100Mb) in no time!!

    Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    ...assuming that 300KB is constant data usage. Can you verify that it's constantly using data at that rate? It sounds like you looked once and made an assumption.
     
  3. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Go to menu-settings-accounts and sync. Check what is syncing, and how often, and disable anything you dont need to automatically sync.

    THen go through ALL of your apps, and all of their settings, to make sure there is nothing set to run in the background.

    Oh and stop using the task killer.
     
  4. Syao

    Syao Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I tought it could be it, but everytime I reseted the counter to start another observation, it went way up again in no time, so I don't think it's just a one way thing.

    @sitlet

    What's the problem with the app killer?
     
  5. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
  6. Syao

    Syao Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks for the reply sitlet. I uninstalled the app killer. However, it didn't do anything by itself, only if I went there and chose which apps to kill, so I don't think it is related. Or is it?
     
  7. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Could be. I have yet to see a task killer actually do any good.
     
  8. Syao

    Syao Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Well, regardless, I did uninstall it. Let's see how it goes!
    Thanks for the answers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...