1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Background WiFi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by imcat, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. imcat

    imcat Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    46
    6
    16
    When I switch my screen on I notice that I just have a mobile data connection and no wifi connection. Then after about 1-2 secs the wifi comes on and the mobile data connection is disabled. It seems as though when the phone is sleeping it is using just the mobile data connection. This appears to be confirmed by 3Gwatchdog which is showing lots of mobile data being used overnight even though I am on my home network.

    It has never done this before. Normally when I switch on the wifi wakes up and the mobile data is already disconnected. I have background synching on but that was just using wifi as I can see the logs on the router.

    Everything changed in the last few days. The only thing I installed on the phone was SIPDroid. I couldn't get it to work so i have uninstalled it.

    Could this have messed with some internal settings within the phone I can't see? I have done a hard reboot but the problem is still happening.

    I have the "use mobile data when wifi not available" set, but this has always been the case. I have a standard non rooted unbranded phone.

    It is as though the wifi is being disabled when the phone is sleeping which is just plain wrong.

    Please help as this is killing my data plan
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I can't remember but is there a WiFi sleep policy in advanced WiFi settings?
     
  3. HKM

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    First of all as you are aware when wifi is enabled then data is disabled. So if the wifi is on and screen is off then it is still consuming system resource as due to ARP broadcast from AP so by default which translate in to power as its consuming battery so its turned off after inactivity.

    Now you can do 2 things as you can disable data network manually before you enable wifi or you can go in Wireless> WiFi Settings> Menu-key> Advance> Sleep Policy> Never (Selective option to switch to mobile network).
     
  4. imcat

    imcat Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    46
    6
    16
    I believe there maybe such a policy but it is one you cannot see or change. I am betting this shitty app messed with the policies on the phone
     
  5. imcat

    imcat Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    46
    6
    16
    I leave both wifi and mobile data on all the time so I dont have to bother changing settings every time I go out of the house. No real effect on the battery and I can easily get 24hr+. In fact I have noticed the battey drains faster when on mobile data.

    If the phone is sleeping then both wifi and mobile data should be turned off automatically. When the phone does a background sync it should partial wake and then by default attempt to connect the wifi first before connecting the mobile data. At least that is how it seemed to work before.

    Thanks for the above setting (didn't know it was there) Mine is currently set to 15 mins. If I set it to Never will this mean that the wifi is permenantly on and will continue to drain the battery even when phone is sleeping? If so I don't think this was the option that was messed with. What is the normal default setting for this?

    To me it appears there is something that is preventing the wifi being turned on when sleeping or partially awake and a syn needs to happen.
     
  6. HKM

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Take it from someone who use WiFi as data connection 90% of the times.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Fact is WiFi uses less power than Data. Now that being said far as your question goes if you select Never then it will not switch to Data which is standard as when WiFi is dropped Data is enabled. Now if selected when screen is off then WiFi will temporarily be shutdown and when awaken it will pick up as designed but Data will be disabled until WiFi is disabled then Data will be enabled, I hope it make sense.

    For more better battery consumption you might look in to App called Juice Defender which sync data based on WiFi/Data on given interval opposed to having it on all the time if not needed. I myself don't use anything as I just use default setting modded extensively to achieve my performance.
     
  7. Bomberman

    Bomberman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    If your mobile data signal is less than perfect, it'll hunt a lot for a better one - apparently this is why wifi is generally better battery wise. Or set the phone to only use 2G data (Can you do that on the desire? Can't find the setting now...)
     
  8. HKM

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Well actually to be honest you are some what correct as if you have worse signal then it is always constantly searching for better resection by default thus draining more power. But if you are advance user and know your network limitations in your area you can manually setup policies to deal with it in power friendly manners. But WiFi vs Data in power mode WiFi wins.
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    3G data (HSDPA or 3G) uses more power than wifi, except I have noticed on Gingerbread ROMS, which you have.
     
  10. HKM

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    My bad I mean less power IDK why I wrote that but I swear I seen data :O

    EDIT: Corrected the original post, this is why I should proof read :p
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    heheh.

    But, like I said, on Gingervillain I notice my draw screen off on HSDPA is 4-6mA and with Wifi its 6-8mA
     
  12. HKM

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Ya I know but I didn't want to point that out after my fiasco as I felt awkward on stance as I was saying WiFi use less power but wrote it use more power :p and jumping from 2.2 to 2.3 WiFi use more power, which is a total cluster F for the OP if you know what I mean :p whole thing might be confusing for most who don't know what we are talking about.

    EDIT: Guess I had to many Heinekens while I been watching The Sopranos.
     
  13. imcat

    imcat Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    46
    6
    16
    Okay. It does seem that this was the setting that was being messed with. I installed and uninstalled the app again and the setting changed from never to 15 min. The "Never" setting seems to be the setting I had before and and the one I want. All seems well now.

    Thanks
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...