1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Backing Up in Recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ndh777, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. ndh777

    ndh777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    885
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    I had a bit of a scare today...this will sorta be a long story...

    So I had MIUI ROM installed on my Evo for the last couple of weeks and loved it. Someone recommended I try to flash the kernel "Ziggys" or something like that...so I flash it today via downloading it to my phone's root on the phone and tried flashing it there.

    Once into Amon-Ra, I tried flashing the kernel and it worked and said it was done. Then I rebooted my phone and it started normally. Once it got to the lock screen...my finger could not move it or do ANYTHING to the touch screen. I rebooted multiple times, even waited for the touch screen...nothing...no response, nothing.

    The real part of my story that was scary was that I backed up before flashing the kernel. So I figured once this happened, all I needed to do was go back into Amon-Ra and use my previous backup. I clicked it and waited. It said that it started restoring my recent backup, then it said that the restore failed. I tried about 3 more times before giving up then tried an older backup I had from a few weeks ago before MIUI...same thing happened over and over again where it said that the restore failed. So then I decided to try another and the same thing happened with the fail screen!!! Finally I just flashed my very first backup there, but it was a backup of my old Fresh ROM I had flashed a while ago. (I have about 5 different backups stored on the 16 GB SD card). The Fresh backup didn't work...well it restored correctly in Recovery but once it got to the boot screen with the "FRESH!" and the green penguin/android, it just stayed there for over 40 minutes. So I knew something was wrong. Finally I restored using a newer backup and it worked. The current one that is on there is Evio I believe...it restored fine and is working fine. Only problem is if I want to go back to the original Sense that came stock and was initial root if you know what I mean.

    What can I do if this happens again and I am unable to restore ANY of my backups?

    I rooted initially using unrEVOked if that information helps any.

    Before restoring some of the backups, I wiped/cleared/etc. and used Calkuin's Format too.

    EDIT: Since it said that these backups failed...do you think it would be okay to delete the other backups from the SD card? They take up quite a bit of room. Each of the 5 or so backups contains a different ROM too.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I personally wouldn't delete them. I'd put em on your PC. You never know what your recovery was going through, those nandroids may not be bad.

    I had a pseudo similar problem last night. I flashed Destroyer, had a bad battery bug, but it followed through to a completely different backup. I wiped everything multiple times, and used the format all several times in between, but somehow the battery bug was there. My problem may just be clockwork recovery up to it's old tricks, but Amon-Ra acting like that is abnormal.
     
    ndh777 likes this.
  3. ndh777

    ndh777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    885
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    That's what I thought and had been told. I had used ClockWork for a while til people told me that it wasn't too reliable and once I switched, all of the ROMs I was trying to flash that wouldn't flash, flashed. lol But thanks! I hadn't thought of simply backing them to my computer which is an excellent idea! I'm running out of room there, but they can take a few backups ;)
     
  4. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    No prob. :) Akazabam also gave me the idea of creating a spreadsheet of what nandroid is what. Once you have 20 of em it's hard to remember. ;)
     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Personally, saving nandroids is a waste of space. Keep a safe nandroid with your wimax keys either on your phone and on your computer.


    I believe the most important thing is backing up the wimax keys, save those to your computer. I know in amon ra, you have the option of only nandroiding the wimax keys.

    I know I have debated with others about this but I personally recommend not wiping anything when restoring a nandroid. I have seen more issues arise from wiping before restoring, than I have from not wiping and then restoring the nandroid. But I guess it's personal preference;) Not once have I wiped before restoring a nandroid and never had an issue.


    With the first issue you had, I would have booted to recovery and wiped Dalvik cache and cache;) Then rebooted
     
  6. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Essentially wiping cache/dalvik before restoring a nandroid backup is pointless IMO, because the cache/dalvik/data that was backed up will be restored when performing a nand restore (unless you chose not to backup cache).

    Now wiping before flashing a ROM, definitely necessary to minimize problems.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I agree, this is something I've never had an issue with, not wiping before restoring;) I've heard more issues arise from wiping than not
     
  8. ventzi

    ventzi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hi everyone,
    I have similar/strange problem with my backups. None of them are working. I get Oops..something went wrong! Please check the recovery log! when I try to restore, when I try to move recovery.log to SD. If I try to flash zip file from SD it works. So I have to reconfigure everything from scratch. the interesting thing is it that I can make a backup on any new ROM that I flashed but if I choose to restore it fail with the same error. I was not able to find recovery file to see why this happen.
    Can you guys have some suggestions what I need to run or do at least to get any idea what is going on?

    thanks
     
  9. ndh777

    ndh777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    885
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    lol I can imagine. I had about 5 and they were hard to remember which was which. I may start doing that. I'm thinking of getting a new Evo so I that I can start fresh and do everything right that I did wrong such as a spreadsheet haha.


    When I backup, I backup everything except the last two options in an Amon-Ra backup. I never wiped cache/etc. before performing a restore either...but after it said that it couldn't restore the backup, I thought, "What other options do I have? It won't hurt to try." That was my first and only time wiping then restoring. I have restored many times and never used it. Each of my backups had a different ROM in them, some were duplicates. I liked having them there because it was like I had dual boot for more than one ROM. And I liked so many that I just decided to keep them all in case of emergency like this or if I wanted a new ROM look or just show off to other people.

    Yeah, this was my first and only time trying it. Before, I had never done that. I just did a normal restore without wiping.
     
  10. ndh777

    ndh777 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    885
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    For others to better help you...which Recovery are you using? And what options are you selecting to backup? (On Amon-Ra, I am given the choice to backup WiMax Keys, cache, and some others. I click all except the last two options.)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...