1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Backing up Linux Partitions

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Bg260, Jul 1, 2016.

1. Bg260

Bg260  
    VIP Member Thread Starter

Apr 30, 2016
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Some of you may know that I am relatively new to Linux. Like all good beginners, I have managed to "personalize" my operating system to the point of breaking, a few times now. From research, the recommended fix is to do a clean install. This is not a big deal as I keep my personal data safe on a non-Linux partition at least for now. I am curious though, After a fresh install, I thought I could copy and paste my root partition to a safe place. In the event I over-tweak again, I could just copy over the offending directory as a pseudo-factory reset. I tried but not all files will copy even as root. I figure its either due to the file being in use or some sort of encryption. My questions are.

!. Will a restore like this even work?
    2. If yes, Can I copy everything while in a live session?
    3. Is there an easier way?

I'm used to Android and having a Nandroid back-up is nice for peace of mind.

Advertisement

2. svim

svim Android Expert

Dec 19, 2013
    Illinois
    How are you doing this partition copying? If you were using a GUI file manager (indicated by when you stated, "...copy and paste my root partition...) and the resulting backup was missing files it sounds like the file manager wasn't set to view hidden files? Generally using a file manager to clone a system partition generally isn't a workable solution.

A more reliable way would be to clone your root partition using a terminal. At that point you can use the 'dd' command, here's a nice summation on using dd. There are options that apply to different situations, pick the one that suits your needs.
    https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/disk_cloning