1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root backup and ROM problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bankswood, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    I have been trying to load a new nightly update for months now but. I'm having no luck. Every time I download a new build I get the prompt to backup my current ROM, etc. I get about halfway thru the backup and it freezes. Since I Can't backup I have to reboot and just try in flash the update but it freezes about half way thru.

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Hey BW, long time no hear. :D

    I assume you can boot into recovery and back with no problem?

    Here's what I'd do:


    • Power down your NC and remove your sdcard and mount it in your computer.
    • Right-click on the sdcard from "My Computer" and choose properties... tools tab... error checking... check now and choose "attempt recovery of bad sectors" (both check boxes checked). This will take a few minutes.
    • When it's done, see if it reports any bad sectors or if it fixed the file system so we have a clue if the card is failing.
    • Also from the properties window, click the general tab and see how many GB free you have.
    • Close the properties tab and browse the file system for the sdcard. There should be a LOST.DIR folder. You can delete anything in this folder. I check mine often and just found 2 files on my X.
    • Open the clockworkmod\download folder and if you have any downloads here that you know you'll never need, you could delete them from their respective folder, like old version of gapps or CM7. I bet you could delete all the folders in the download folder, but lets not get drastic here if you have at least 3 or 4 gigs free.
    • When done, safely dismount the card and reinsert in your NC.


    How did that go? Problems?

    Let's proceed...


    • Boot into CM7.
    • Open Rom Manager
    • Choose Flash Recovery. Choose Nook Color.
    • Click the menu button and choose "settings". Check "Quick backup and restore". This removes the progress detector when backing up. Exit menu.
    • Go to Manage Backups and see if you have a lot of backups and if you can delete one. (Again based on how much space you have and the number of backups.)
    • Reboot into recovery. Watch for errors after every step.
    • Go to advanced and check permissions.
    • Go to to backups and create a backup. The missing sd-ext message is not an error.


    Now where are we at? :D
     
  3. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    colchiro, thanks for the advice. I'll give it a shot today and report back.
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Another question, if your update freezes half-way thru, does that mean it no longer boots?

    Worst case you might need to format data.
     
  5. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    I can't backup in recovery. it hangs up at Dalvik cache Evert time. I have to hold the power button until it shuts down then press the power button again to reboot
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Sounds like you have an old version of recovery. CM7 is installed on EMMC, right (not on a bootable sdcard?

    What version does recovery say when you first boot it? Should be 3.2.0.1.
     
  7. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Just checked my Recovery and it's the latest 3.2.0.1

    Problem now is that for the first time it will not boot into recovery and now when I shut it down and try to reboot it hangs at the Cyanogen logo.
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I'd boot off your bootable sdcard (or hold down the "n" key at startup) and boot into recovery and restore a recent recovery backup. Make sure your bootable sdcard is also 3.2.0.1, if you go that route.

    O/W it sounds like time to format data (factory reset).
     
  9. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    OK. I'm not geting anywhere trying to get to recovery. Also tried to boot from my Phiremod 6.3 image but it hung up. Just tried to factory reset and it did a complete data wipe but it says it can't mount/cache/recovery/log. Again stuck
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    "boot from Phiremod" ???

    You mean you restored your PM image or booted off sdcard?

    I hope you've got your apps backed up with TIBU.

    I'd copy CM7.1 stable and latest gApps to your bootable sdcard, boot off it and make sure it says 3.2.0.1.

    Then format cache (first screen, not advanced) and see if that give you an error (I believe that deletes both caches.) Then clear Dalvik cache (under advanced). Then advanced... fix permissions. See if you get an error on any of those.



    If you get that far w/o errors, you might try removing the card and booting into CM7 again and see if that's any more stable.



    If you haven't gained anything, you could boot off the bootable sdcard again and try formatting system, data, cache, flash CM7.1, gApps. Of course that's a factory reset.

    If that works, you could back it up in recovery (don't skip that step) and try an advanced restore from recovery (just data) to get your apps back and see if that's stable. If not, restore your clean backup and batch restore just apps + app data from TIBU.
     
  11. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Thanks for all the advice but this thing is f'ed. I'm trying to get back to stock using your tutorial but I am having problems with Winimage recognizing the sd card drive. I download Winrar and I downloaded Winimage and I downloaded the cwm sd card image. I right clicked on theimage file but I'm not sure what to do. I open the file in Winrar. Well it shows up in the Winrar folder. Should I double click it? Anyway when I open Winimage it ask for which drive to choose then when I choose restore Virtual Harddrive I get nothing in the box. WTF.
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    If you still have a working bootable sdcard, quit messing with winimage. :D

    OTOH, did you see this: If you can't get WinImage to work, you could try: win32-image-writer
    (download link is on the right)
     
  13. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Colchiro, I have already reformatted the sd card. I'll try win writer
     
  14. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  15. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Coldchiro,

    I think I can now burn an image using image writer 32. I have my 2gb card wipped and I'm ready to go. I would like to get back to a CM7 build. Can you give me some guidance on what bootable image I need to flash on the SD card?

    Well I checked my SD Card for errors and there were none. I did have 510 lost files that I deleted. I inserted my sd card in the nook and tried to boot into recovery but it just hangs up at the cyanogen logo.
     
  16. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  17. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Well I'm back up and running sort of. My Nook cant seem to connect to my wifi. Can"t obtain the IP address. Also when I try restore a backup it stops and says Mismatch MD5
     
  18. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Sounds like they're corrupt.
     
  19. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Do you think if I download. The CM7 rom on my computer and transfer it to my SD Card that would help?
     
  20. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Q: did you rename your backup and use some illegal character in the name, like a space? That could give you a md5 error.

    Regarding the cm7 file, you can flash from your bootable sdcard or copy from your computer and reboot and flash it. Make no difference.
     
  21. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Well I got CM7 up and running but I still have no internet and without wifi I cant do much. The NC keeps trying to obtain the IP address but can't seem to lock in. Anything I can do? Never had any connectivity problems in the past.
     
  22. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Try resetting (turn off/on) your router. Does your phone connect to it ok?

    Can you open your router admin page and see what encryption you're using? Sometimes changing that can make a difference.

    Also, if you live in an apartment/condo or have lots of wifi routers in your neighborhood, check this out: http://androidforums.com/hp-touchpad/429699-wifi-channel-optimizing.html
     

Share This Page

Loading...