1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Backup Roms?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pulazki, Mar 30, 2011.

1. pulazki

pulazki Newbie
    None

Mar 30, 2011
    Hi, im new to rooting and have only flashed 2 roms, Myn's Warm 2.2 and MIUI.

I just flashed MIUI, and decided to go back to my stock rooted ROM, but i did set up the ROM with all my apps and settings to my liking. So can i just create a nandroid backup of the ROM like i did with the stock ROM and just do a restore of that MIUI backup and go right back to where i left off with all my settings on the ROM?

Advertisement

2. mdizzle99

mdizzle99 Android Enthusiast
    None

Jul 10, 2010
    So you are trying to go back to a stock ROM but keep the current setup you have in Miui?

Restoring a nand backup will restore you completely to the state your phone was at when you created the backup. So if you were on miui when you made the backup, you will be on miui when you restore the backup. You can save your apps from one ROM to another by using a variety of programs - titanium backup being the most used (I believe). I think you can also save your screen setups if you are using launcher pro. But you cannot restore part of a nandroid backup from one rom to the other in order to save settings and apps (I don't believe). Hopefully I addressed the question you were asking.

3. pulazki

pulazki Newbie
    None

Mar 30, 2011
    No, basically what i'm asking is -- can i create a nandroid backup of custom roms just like i do the stock rom, or do i have to flash the zip of a custom rom everytime i want to return to it?

And my other question is, when doing a nandroid restore, do i need to do a full wipe(factory wipe, wipe cache, delvik cache) ?