1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Backup to "drive"?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by erician, Apr 7, 2016.

  1. erician

    erician Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014

    Sep 18, 2014
    72
    14
    18
    I need to do a factory reset but haven't access to a computer for backup

    Can one use Drive or Dropbox (or some such online storage) to back up, then reinstall?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. wardnkathy

    wardnkathy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    64
    20
    28
    The Lg Backup app does not appear to allow backing up to Dropbox or Google Drive. You could copy the file there. It will allow you yo backup to a SD card and the factory reset should not touch the files on the SD card.
     
  3. erician

    erician Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014

    Sep 18, 2014
    72
    14
    18
    Thx

    But this is hilarious: someone JUST NOW came through with a macbook for me to use, tomorrow

    But any tricks/tips (that're not already widely published) for making the whole process streamlined are certainly welcome, though the operation looks pretty straightforward

    Thx again!
     
  4. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Why are you wanting to do a factory reset?
     
  5. erician

    erician Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014

    Sep 18, 2014
    72
    14
    18
    Don't "want" but need to (semantics), cuz the volt's having more, assorted problems than I'd care to enumerate
     
  6. erician

    erician Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014

    Sep 18, 2014
    72
    14
    18
    But thanks for asking
     
  7. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    I figured there'd probably be a way to fix it without wiping the whole thing. I assume you've tried clearing cache and dalvik?

    Might look at this for backup
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rerware.android.MyBackup
     
  8. erician

    erician Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014

    Sep 18, 2014
    72
    14
    18
    Oh, yeah!: cleared cache (a number of times, actually, especially when the volt would become virtually inoperable...seems a decent temporary fix)

    dalvik, I knew nothing about until I just now looked it up. According to a couple of things I read, it's said that it was replaced with ART

    MyBackup looks great and I'd probably use it if it weren't for the fact that one of the many problems I'm having is any time I try to download an app, the download stops at - usually - 77%

    So there's my Catch-22
     
  9. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    ART doesn't use dalvik cache, but KitKat doesn't run on ART unless you set it to. If you are running ART, that may be your problem.

    You can download My Backup on your computer (or try disclosing it on your phone) here, then copy it onto your phone and sideload it.
    http://www.apk4fun.com/apk/28720/
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...