1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Backup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by glimmers, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. glimmers

    glimmers Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Hi,

    Really new to all this but just rooted my phone as I have had enough of constantly battling against being low on space. I'm looking to make a Nandroid backup before I do anything else. I'm on Amon RA 2.0.1. Should I go for a "Nand Backup" or a "Nand + ext backup? Should I do both? What is the difference? Also, where does this backup to and does one delete the other or would both be separate?

    Finally, the apps2SD+ guide says "Make sure you have moved all SD Apps back to internal memory first." I'm doing this because I am low on internal memory, so how am I supposed to move all my SD apps back to internal memory?

    Thanks,

    glimmers
     

    Advertisement

  2. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Nand only will be fine this time as you have no ext partition yet. You'll probably need to uninstall some apps if you can't get them all on internal memory.

    Regardless, you really should wipe the whole phone before flashing a custom Rom anyway.
     
  3. glimmers

    glimmers Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks Gren but why do I need to wipe the whole phone? And if I do, how do I get everything back?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Theres a rooting faq located both within my signature and in the "All about rooting" sticky thread. It answers these questions and many more. You need to read this immediately.

    The sections pertaining to this question are:

    http://androidforums.com/desire-all-things-root/221212-faq-rooting-updated-24th-june-2011-a.html#26

    and

    http://androidforums.com/desire-all-things-root/221212-faq-rooting-updated-24th-june-2011-a.html#32

    But please read the rest too
     
  5. glimmers

    glimmers Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks for the response SUroot.

    I've read all of that right through more than once (in fact I'm constantly referring to it) but I'm struggling to understand it all. As far as I can tell, it only says I may need to wipe if the settings are not compatible (how do I know if I need to or not?) and it doesn't seem to tell me how I get everything back. Can I make a backup of the SD card on PC and then copy it all back after?

    It also doesn't explain the difference between the backups in Amon RA or say where they backup to.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Good point. If you are flashing a rooted stock HTC sense of the same version over your original unrooted one, settings will be compitable. More often and not they will not be.

    Going from Eclair>Froyo or Froyo>Gingerbread, Incompatible. Going from Sense>AOSP, incompaitble. Going fromROM by Dev X > ROM by Dev Y, Incompatible



    The second link tells you about titanium backup. Its an app from the market.

    SD card doesnt get wiped with wipe / factory reset option

    The backups are both nandroid. Once you have an ext in amonra, you need to pick the +ext option. CWM does by default. SDcard/clockworkmod/backups for CWM. AmonRA, probably something similar. Dunno
     
  7. glimmers

    glimmers Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks again. Couple more things:
    Do you not lose all your settings and your progress in all your apps if you reset the phone? And if I go for the ROM you have from my standard HTC one, will I need to wipe?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Well with my Rom, its 2.3 so yes for that and its aosp so yes for that too.

    Yes wipe loses everything. Backup certain apps with titanium
     
  9. glimmers

    glimmers Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks SURoot. Another question - once I've rooted the phone, do I need to keep USB debugging on to do the rest of the stuff or should I switch it off?

    Thanks
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It's just for the rooting process but I keep it on all the time anyway
     
  11. sameee781

    sameee781 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    128
    3
    56
    How can I take backup/restore the followings to ASOP ROMS-
    1. Access Point Name setting for Internet and MMS
    2. WiFi Settings
    3. Portable WiFi hotspot setting

    Every time I install a RAM all the above setting needs to be manually configured.
     
  12. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    titanium backup will do those. I also use apn backup from market for apn settings.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Its best not to restore wifi settings between roms to be honest.
     
  14. JonnyDroid

    JonnyDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    41
    4
    16
    I, recently, did this - can you expand on what the problems may be and/or what I should watch out for, please?
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    They just sometimes don't work. Nothing dangerous
     
    JonnyDroid likes this.
  16. sameee781

    sameee781 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    128
    3
    56
    I did not find APN,WiFi banckup in titanium backup (free version)
     
  17. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    +1, i've never had any problems, perhaps i've just been lucky then?

    that'll be a first. :D
     
  18. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    saltire likes this.
  19. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Nice one, was looking for something to do this to save time. Should APNs be automatically read from the sim card though, as had to manually set correct one up when i made switch to Redux for some reason?
     
  20. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #123
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    no idea, i just restore my apn backup everytime, works fine.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...