1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Bad Battery - Video Included - Please Follow

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HiddenTalent, Dec 3, 2014.

  1. HiddenTalent

    HiddenTalent Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    0
    15
    All,

    Video:

    This morning I took the phone off of my CHOE Stadium 3 coil Qi charger when my alarm went off. I was able to snooze my alarm twice. I didn't get woke up a third time. My phone was off. I pressed the power button but got a battery with an exclamation point inside of it. I tossed it on the Qi charger while I took a shower and came back to a 99% battery. About 3 hours later it said I had zero battery and turned itself off again. I plugged it in via USB to my work laptop and it powered right up. It reported 0 battery for about 20 minutes on that power source. The phone seemed to function fine while it was on the tether. I had it off for about 3 more hours before the same thing happened again. I left it in this state and took it to my local Verizon store where I was informed they could only order me a new phone. They could not replace it with a new unit. They also suggested I back up my data if possible and do a factory reset. The CSR did agree that she would want a brand new unit if she was in my shoes (what customer wouldn't?), and suggested I contact customer support directly.

    I came home and made this video real quick. It is about 8 minutes long. I explained some of the phone's behavior in this state. I also witnessed it for the first time increasing in battery from "dead" then 10% and increasing about 1% every 20-30 seconds. Once powered back on, the phone showed 43% and two minutes later displayed 37%.

    I'm currently pulling all of my personal data and will try a FDR.

    On a side note, this same phone displayed some very odd behavior this past weekend. I accidentally power cycled it. When it booted back up the time was 3 hours behind. 4G was connected and I could browse Facebook using the app. I could not however, open my websites in the browser. I could not send or receive text messages. I tried to access Google Play and was prompted that I needed to have mobile data enabled ("Press here to enable."). The setting for mobile data was on, but I was still prompted it wasn't. I posted a thread about that here and was educated that the SIM card is hidden behind the volume rocker. I pulled it while the phone was on, and replaced it. Time was still off and same behavior. I power cycled the phone again with no luck. I pulled the SIM again, power cycled, and upon reboot put SIM back in... no luck. I left the phone on and began driving. The moment I got far enough to change towers, the phone corrected itself and I haven't had an issue with connectivity since.

    I'll continue to post as I progress. I apologize for the length of the video as well as all of my "ums". Hopefully some of you auto enthusiasts got my turbo reference in the title.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Just take it back still under warranty
     
    #2 BRAINZ2013, Dec 3, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2014
  3. HiddenTalent

    HiddenTalent Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    0
    15
    I did. I took it to the store and they said they could order me a refurb unit or I could try customer service for a brand new unit first... they also suggested a factory reset, which didn't work.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    You couldn't do the Factory Data Reset or the Factory Data Reset did not solve the problem?

    ... Thom
     
  5. HiddenTalent

    HiddenTalent Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    0
    15
    Factory data reset did not fix the issues.
     
  6. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    That's why I say take back the battery is screwed
     
  7. Bearcats

    Bearcats Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    329
    37
    43
    USA
    My wife's iPhone behaved similar to this. I replaced the battery and problems went away. You need to enthusiastically request a brand new phone; no refurbs.
     
  8. vr4

    vr4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    231
    21
    48
    Agreed. You bought a brand new phone that didn't last more than a few weeks at best. If you wanted a refurb you would have bought one (had it been available).

    If they still insist on a refurb ask for a bill credit in the difference of cost between the phones.
     
  9. HiddenTalent

    HiddenTalent Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    0
    15
    I have my old phone. Its been reactivated. I've been escalated by tech support to Motorola directly. I will likely get a new unit through them.
     
  10. OhBe1

    OhBe1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    102
    20
    68
    Male
    Teacher
    Kansas, USA
    I thought this thread sounded crazy, until my phone had weird battery issues yesterday. Sounds very similar to the original post: displayed 100% battery after two hours at work (not normal), rapid up and down readings on the battery percentage, tried to charge a bit when I had time during the day, more crazy battery readings, then a completely dead battery just minutes after reading 30%.

    I backed up and did a Factory Data Reset last night, then charged overnight to 100%. The phone behaved normally today, though I had less than 30% after work -- it's normally over 70% at that time. After using the phone for a bit tonight the battery was at 5%, so I plugged in the Turbo Charger. Five minutes after unplugging, we're at 99%. We'll see what happens next!
     
  11. Bearcats

    Bearcats Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    329
    37
    43
    USA
    For those having battery "anomalies" make sure to do a full charge, discharge cycle WITHOUT causing the phone to power off to discharge. This eliminates the problem of sensor interpretation.

    But when the phone gets flaky like that with power reading (pre MY own experiences) the battery is in poor condition and probably need replaced. Given how young these phones are I would ask for a new one.

    And remember Lithium Ion batteries should not be fully discharged. If you are at 10% you should be locating a charger.

    Of those having issues; how many are using the high power charger all the time? Meaning are you letting get very very low and using the "high speed" part often?
     
  12. HiddenTalent

    HiddenTalent Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    0
    15
    I made a second video of my attempt to factory reset. More flaky things happening! The factory data reset was suggested by the store. It did not fix my problem, and I began my journey with customer service over the phone. They agreed to replace my phone with a brand new one, and made the necessary notes on my account, even though I was 34 days in. Once I got to the store, they were out of stock. They were concerned even though they made the necessary notes I may not be able to make the transaction, that even though customer service OK'd it, their system would still not allow it.

    Here's the second video:

    I came home again to contact customer service a second time to have them send me a new phone as they suggested they could. After spending 3 hours last night on the phone with Verizon and "Motorola". Please be advised if Verizon technical support says they are going to transfer you to Motorola you will actually be speaking to a contracted communications company called Atento.

    I had my issue escalated to the top of Atento level 1, with a lot of frustration. The first wave of troubleshooting suggested the step shown in the 3rd video to clear the cache partition. They called me back 2 hours later to ask about the charge. I told them it still wasn't functioning properly and that I'd like my issue escalated. I was escalated to their "repair/level 2" technical department, but they were closed. I left the phone on the Turbo charger until it said it had a full charge. I unplugged it before I went to bed and let it sit over night. When I got up for work, it still had 97% remaining. I took it with me to work to monitor it for a few hours and it seemed to be holding a charge. 95% about 3 hours later. I then called and had Verizon reactivate it. I used it the rest of the day. Instead of getting 3-5 hours off of a "full charge" today, I got 13 hours.

    Today they called me to discuss. I explained I wasn't satisfied with a "like new phone". I want new! I was escalated to a supervisor who answered speaking very good english. He was actually from Texas working as a location supervisor (COO) and was much easier to work with. He immediately explained that the "like new" phone is simply a bare phone. No charger and not retail packaging. Makes sense. He ensured me that they do not send refurbished devices. He stated that some phones may be reclaims that were opened and returned. A customer likely took the phone home and changed their mind (probably dropped them 10 times and returned them). He said they test them before they leave the facility. He assured me that even if they sent refurbished units that the phone hasn't been out long enough to begin a refurbished supply.

    I asked him to start the process for the "like new" phone. When he attempted to submit the request in their system, he said he was unable to and would have to do it another way. He basically said he couldn't get the serial number from my phone which was weird. He said this process he was submitting would take 72 hours to complete. I have no idea where my experience is going now other than I'm in queue to get a "like new" phone. :(

    Here's the 3rd video explaining what their suggested troubleshooting steps:
     
  13. Bearcats

    Bearcats Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    329
    37
    43
    USA
    OMG...OP I do feel sorry for you. I would be livid at that point!
     
  14. HiddenTalent

    HiddenTalent Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    25
    0
    15
    Should have bit the bullet and gone Note 4...
     
  15. OhBe1

    OhBe1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    102
    20
    68
    Male
    Teacher
    Kansas, USA
    My battery behaved normally today. I'll watch it for a few days; being careful not to get so close to 0%.
     
  16. Bogie

    Bogie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    74
    3
    16
    Programmer
    Romeoville, IL
    I had a similar issue with my phone. I took it off the charger and it drained down in about two hours from 50% to 0%. I did a full discharge and still had the issue, then did a factory reset followed by a full discharge and since then it seems to be behaving normally.

    The only issue I can think of that caused it was I put it on a wireless charger and then had to leave so took it right back off again within a few seconds, that is when the problem started for me.
     
    Thom likes this.
  17. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Which wireless charger were you using?

    ... Thom
     
  18. Bogie

    Bogie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    74
    3
    16
    Programmer
    Romeoville, IL
    I was using the Tylt Vu
     
  19. inkdesigner

    inkdesigner Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    98
    16
    28
    Male
    Chemist and EMT
    USA
    Check in on THIS and THIS thread over in the Motorola forums. Seems others have been experiencing the same issues. Looks like wireless charging seems to be the common theme at this time.
     
  20. OhBe1

    OhBe1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    102
    20
    68
    Male
    Teacher
    Kansas, USA
    My battery seems to be fine now. The crazy behavior and inaccurate readings may have been due to the fact that I let the battery get too low. I have been using a RavPower Qi wireless charger with my Turbo and three other phones, and have never had problems like this. Here's hoping that things keep working smoothly!
     
  21. Chasvs

    Chasvs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    36
    2
    16

    I've now had this same thing happen to me twice since I got my Droid Turbo! Went from 100% to dead in 5 minutes or less. You could actually watch the battery drain on the battery meter, 1% a second!!!

    It happened the first time about 2 days after I got it. Deleted a couple programs I had just installed and it was fine. Yesterday it did it again, but I hadn't added any programs or changed any settings so I am at a loss as to what caused it. I did get the latest HD Voice update the other day, but it actually seemed to have improved the battery life but then all of a sudden, i take it off the Qi charger, abd it goes nuts. Runs down to 0 in minutes. I plug it inot the turbo charger and it says 100% in just one minute! I take if off the charger and watched it drain from 100% to 0 again in just a couple minutes!

    Put it back on the charger and it now seems to be OK. WTF?
     
  22. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,931
    483
    See the post from inkdesigner a couple above yours. Many people are having issues with battery level reporting improperly when they use wireless charging on the Turbo. I think you should stay away from Qi charging until an update is delivered that specifically addresses this issue, particularly if you have a history of this happening.
     
    Chasvs likes this.
  23. Chasvs

    Chasvs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    36
    2
    16
    The first time this happened I was charging it in my car using a Verizon charger for my Lumia Icon. Switched to a USB plugin charger from Belkin and the Battery reported 100% almost immediately. So it's not just Qi charging that sets this off.
     
  24. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,931
    483
    Right, but we know that Qi charging is. I suspect that any charger with low amps may cause this (note: not will cause it, may cause it), so I would stick with a 5W (1 amp) charger or more if you can't use the stock charger. And stay away from Qi for now.
     
  25. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I've been using the Tylt Vu wireless charger for the last year on the Maxx and Turbo and have not encountered this problem on either phone.

    There are lots of possibilities ... everyone assumes that the numbers being displayed are true. Perhaps they aren't. Perhaps it is a software glitch or combination hardware/software glitch.

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...