1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Bad ESN?

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by The AwesomeSauce Show, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. The AwesomeSauce Show

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Can I use a Verizon Samsung Fascinate with a bad esn on Sprint?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. The AwesomeSauce Show

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
  3. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No, Verizon phones and Sprint phones can't be used on the opposite network.
    And that's not even accounting for the bad ESN.

    I THINK, don't quote me because I have no experience with it, that a phone with a bad ESN for Verizon can be flashed over to Metro PCS.
     
  4. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    They were able to flash the Droid 1 to CricKet, maybe you can do it with them, too.
     
  5. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    You can use Sprint and Verizon phones on Cricket and Metro even if they have a bad ESN. One of the benefits of these inexpensive carriers is being able to buy a bad esn phone for a huge discount. Usually over $100 less then if they had a good esn.
     
  6. The AwesomeSauce Show

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Is Metro PCS' service better than the two CDMA service(Sprint/Verizon) giants? Does M. PCS have a good download/upload service? I'm asking because I've been using my very old HTC touch for web browsing and takes 10 mins. to load a page:(

    Edit: I live in South Florida and went to their website and it says I will have "good" reception on talk, text, and web. Anybody have any experience with their service?

    Edit 2: Just went to the Metro pcs thread and there are no threads:eek:
     
  7. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    Check Howardforums? Metro and cricket would be ok if you never go anywhere.
     

Share This Page

Loading...