1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Bad news about Exchange sync

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johninbigd, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. johninbigd

    johninbigd Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009

    Jun 3, 2009
    318
    7
    36
    One of the reasons I wanted the Droid was that Android 2.0 offers native Exchange support. However, I just heard that Verizon is going to force us to use some other service that requires a server, much like Blackberry Enterprise Server.

    :(

    This really, really stinks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. iMoto

    iMoto Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009

    Sep 26, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    not true.
     
  3. johninbigd

    johninbigd Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009

    Jun 3, 2009
    318
    7
    36
    I hope not! My boss was told that directly by a Verizon employee at a demo/conference yesterday. The Verizon guy said that Verizon had bought some other company and was going to force us to use that technology/system for Exchange sync. Maybe it's just an option for enterprises that want it.
     
  4. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    393
    6
    36
    Florida
    I cannot imagine how they could possibly stop you from syncing with your own exchange server. It just uses port 443 (or 80 if insecure) to sync with outlook web access. Most likely it is like BIS Blackberry Internet Server offered for blackberries. Companies may or may not have BES Blackberry Enterprise Servers for their own use.
     
  5. padro82

    padro82 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    37
    0
    15
    Chicago, IL
    Agree....if true. Stinks!!!
     
  6. randydandy

    randydandy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    This doesn't sound right. Or atleast not completely accurate.
     
  7. headcase

    headcase Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    44
    2
    16

    Ahh... no. Android 2.0 supports Exchange ActiveSync, which is specifically designed for companies that have Exchange servers and want to provide mobile access . What you just heard, was incorrect.
     
  8. iscomputerman

    iscomputerman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    0
    25
    I have the Verizon Android and I'm syncing to Exchange with no issues as well as 4 other POP3 accounts, 5 email accounts total. I love the coroporate calendar and how it keeps seprate from a personal calendar on the phone that I sync via Companion link with my home computer's Outlook. Great to be able to have personal and work calendars separate.
     
  9. Tiggercat

    Tiggercat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    11
    0
    35
    System Administrator
    Goes direct to your exchange, with no Verizon meddling. Army folks had that problem with Blackberry - because they use an intermediate server, you can't use AKO e-mail on BIS. You can, however, use it on a Droid using ActiveSync.
     
  10. aaron19953

    aaron19953 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    162
    11
    38
    Dover, DE
    The higher priced plan is if you plan to have VERIZON sync your data... This has been posted a least a half dozen times

    -=< aaron >=-
     

Share This Page

Loading...