1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root BAMF 1.5 governer?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ilmar72, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Does BAMF 1.5 come with a governor. I don't see one anywhere on the rom yet it states that it has one included. Where can I find it? using setcpu till I can get this answered.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Default is;

    Min- 245mhz
    Max- 1048mhz
    Gov- On Demand

    I've been using Smartass with 245min and 1.2 max with v. 1.5 and it worked great, gonna try On Demand tomorrow to see if I notice any change.
     
  3. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Where in the rom do I find these settings is what I was looking for.
     
  4. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    You won't find it in the settings. SetCPU will tell you what's running, or download a different CPU controller. I've never used SetCPU so I'm not familiar with how in depth it is, but if it's similar to CPU controller and can set numerous profiles etc.. it should tell you what it's currently running. It will default to On Demand after reboot.

    I use 'No Frills CPU' just cause I like to keep things simple and don't mess around with different profiles. Min, Max, and Gov are all I need..
     
  5. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania

    Ok I see. I thought the governer settings were somewhere in the rom like cm7 did on my droid. (Think it was cm7)

    Btw. What is the smartass governor?
     
  6. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Basically a 'smart' Gov. Set the Min and Max, and depending on how optimized the kernel is for utilizing a Smartass Gov, it will increase or decrease the CPU in steps as needed.

    On Demand is more or less an 'on/off' button, it's either at Min while phone is off or doing nothing, and Max whenever CPU is working.

    Now, that being said, Adrynalyne did heavily optimize the kernel for On Demand Gov, so it does work very well. I still prefer Smartass, but that's just my opinion.
     
  7. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    I was using setcpu. I tried smartass for half the day and on demand for another hour or so. My phone was running laggy and sense crashed at least 5 times. I uninstalled setcpu and now all is good.
     
  8. Chillout2010

    Chillout2010 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    118
    4
    36
    Syracuse
    I'm running Bamf 1.5 with setcpu set to on demand and no problems thus far.
     
  9. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Idk. I did that too. I had max at 1030 min at 250 (whateverthe lowest is ) when hitting the home key sense crashed many times. Was reminding me of my og droid which also has setcpu on it.... Hmmm
     
  10. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Try a different app?

    There's plenty of them out there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...