1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Bank of America App not working after update to 4.1.83

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by itsallgood, May 4, 2011.

  1. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,877
    277
    163
    I tried uninstalling and reinstalling app. No luck. I use a US Bank app too, and it works with no problems. Anyone else having problems?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jessie1290

    jessie1290 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    38
    2
    16
    BOA not working for me either as far as getting to my account info. It will take me as far as the place I enter my password, but won't log me in after I enter it. The other part, finding a nearby bank location does seem to work. I also reinstalled with no luck.
     
  3. Brattix

    Brattix Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Yup, not working here either. I enter my password, then get a blank white screen.
     
  4. dervari

    dervari Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    I can't get any financial software to work...

    BOA
    Amex
    Chase
    Discover

    They are all hanging and then FC.
     
  5. MosIncredible

    MosIncredible Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    83
    12
    18
    DFW, TX
    Mine wasn't working before the update so I wouldn't pin this on 4.1.83. Plus there are some reviews for the BoA app saying others are having the same problem.
     
  6. kilasix9

    kilasix9 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    302
    27
    43
    Male
    Sales
    Miami
    I believe the app stopped working for several users not just us with the Atrix and update. I say this because if you read the comments on the Market, several people are reporting the same issue. I'm having the same issues you all mentioned.

    I'm hoping they will come up with an update to fix this soon.
     
  7. FaderMonkey

    FaderMonkey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Electrical Apprentice
    Orlando, FL
    Yeah, I don't know if it's related to the update, but the BOA app was fine for me before the update and now I'm having the same problem as everyone else after the update. After I log in I just get a white screen.
     
  8. joeatrix

    joeatrix Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    could be the update, I got the same problem.
    but with my CHASE App, before update is fine, after update... can't logging?????

    Wat Happend here....how many more app that have same problem?
    Is there anyway we could roll back... cuz android without app is useless!
     
  9. Brattix

    Brattix Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Same here - I used the BofA app heavily prior to the update without a single issue like we have now. Have not been able to use it since the update. My only other banking app appears to be unaffected.
     
  10. rmarc71

    rmarc71 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I was able to fix the app by doing the following (seems the trust store got screwed up with the new release):

    Grab all the certs from the bank of america cert chain (I used openssl, you could probably use something else):

    openssl s_client -connect www.bankofamerica.com:443 -showcerts

    Grab each of the trust certs (3 total) and put them in files ending in .crt
    IE: cert1.crt, cert2.crt, cert3.crt (you could also create a pkcs12 out of 'em if you are inclined to do so).

    This is likely the problem with other apps noted in this thread.
    Place the files into internal storage download directory. Then go to Settings -> Location & Security -> Creential storage -> Install from internal phone storage.

    Use: Certificate Manager and you should see your 3 available certs. Add them and then reboot the phone.
     
  11. mikespry

    mikespry Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5

    this didnt work for me for some reason, but when i did a brute force approach of getting all verisign certs, I was all set.

    I just tried this on my phone and got both Bank of America and American Express apps to work again.

    I ended up exporting all Verisign and GT certificates in .crt format using my Firefox browser, copying them to my Dropbox account (emailing them should be fine too) and installing them one by one on the phone. You need to reboot your phone after installing the certificates...

    You can also figure out which certificates you need by clicking on the padlock or company name in the browser's URL bar
     
  12. rotty022

    rotty022 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    i guess i wait until the developers fix this issue. unless someone can provide a step by step procedure to update. anyway to delete all the certs on the phone and to allow them to be reinstalled?
     
  13. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,877
    277
    163
  14. log1c

    log1c Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    274
    18
    58
    California Love
    oic, so chase, bofa, discover are using old certificates while our phones are using newer ceritificates.....what the
     
  15. m.girola

    m.girola Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    For me, the Bank of America, Chase, and American Express applications all do not work. The Motorola level 1 and 2 are not helpful. The best they could do is send me instructions that are too difficult for the average phone user.
     
  16. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,877
    277
    163

Share This Page

Loading...