1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support barcode scanner

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kennychaffin, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. kennychaffin

    kennychaffin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    487
    49
    43
    Computer Engineer
    Aurora, CO
    Anyone else having trouble with Barcode Scanner on Xoom?

    Doesn't want to work on mine.
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,267
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,267
    3,937
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    more info.

    does it at least install?

    if it does install does it not run?

    if it does run does it scan or no?

    just looking for more info. i have not thought of using this app on the xoom...
     
  3. kennychaffin

    kennychaffin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    487
    49
    43
    Computer Engineer
    Aurora, CO
    It installs fine, but when used it doesn't want to focus and lock in on the barcode (whether on-screen or printed). Same app works fine on my DroidX

    The Xoom also seems to take pics fine, but I've not taken a lot of them.
     
  4. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,267
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,267
    3,937
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    to contrast, do you have google goggles installed? try that on something around you and see if that app will work...
     
  5. kennychaffin

    kennychaffin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    487
    49
    43
    Computer Engineer
    Aurora, CO
    I don't but will try it. I have goggles on my Droid.
     
  6. kennychaffin

    kennychaffin Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    487
    49
    43
    Computer Engineer
    Aurora, CO
    Hmmm. Installed goggles and it worked on the bar code. Reinstalled Barcode scanner and it didn't work (wouldn't lock in). Went into settings and disabled all but QRcodes and it worked from on-screen. Re-enabled barcodes and data matrix and it is still working. Very strange.

    Thanks for the Goggles idea. Guess I'll assume it's working now. How strange though.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  7. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    85
    0
    15
    Same thing was the fix for me. Odd.
     

Share This Page

Loading...