1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Baseband Downgrade to .01P the EASY way!!! (update.zip)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BillyGalbreath, May 16, 2010.

  1. BillyGalbreath

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    3
    7
    6
    Tired of losing your 3G on the new baseband? Dropping signals and calls all the time since the OTA update? Well here's the solution! The Baseband Downgrade to .01P!!

    1) rename to update.zip

    2) place on root of sdcard

    3) reboot into SPR

    4) choose Install

    5) Allow installation from update.zip

    6) Install

    7) Re-Activate by dialing *228, option 1

    Have fun guys, and remember... BillyGalbreath did it FIRST! ;)



    Baseband Downgrade to .01P - Black Droid Mod
     

    Advertisement

    nano88, obutto, inssane and 3 others like this.
  2. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    189
    4
    36
    Chicago, IL
    Interesting. Thought the new baseband was suppose to be an IMPROVEMENT over the .01P?
     
  3. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    yeah. i have nothing but great reception and solid 3G with the new baseband. but i have heard of other with issues.
     
  4. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    189
    4
    36
    Chicago, IL
    there are a few versions of the newer baseband out there. which is the recommended one?
     
  5. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    Could this be why I lose my 3G randomly for a day? Then it comes back?

    Highly annoying when it drops since I use GV for my SMSing needs.
     
  6. CalledFollower

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    I know when I'm at home, with the old baseband, I had 2-3 bars 3G. With the new baseband, I only have 1-2 bars of 1X.

    Gonna Try it out.
     
  7. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    its possible. however if this happens to you, try putting the phone in flightmode for a second then turn off flightmode. this will shut down the radio and start it backup and reconnect to your tower.
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    It's possible that the newer baseband can result in lower signal for some users.

    This should remedy their problems.
     
    BillyGalbreath likes this.
  9. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ok so here is one for you... I've been on the new baseband since it was released... everything was fine until a few days ago, now I notice I've been going into data roaming and my 3G is very spotty... I've re-programmed both normal and roamming and the issue is still there...

    Any ideas?
     
  10. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    I always try that, but it never works. I just have to wait until it comes back.
     
  11. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010


    thats weird. :(
     
  12. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Perfect. I know for fact I am one of the ones that got worse service with the update. Lost my reception in a few different places now, going back to old. Glad I ran across this.
     
  13. snake_fist_gung_fu

    snake_fist_gung_fu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    257
    25
    43
    I have gained a few bars back by downgrading. Wow so much for a good update. You would think they would have got it right with the time it took to release.
     
  14. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    I just did the downgrade, and my service improved the moment my Droid rebooted. Prior to downgrading, my service had deteriorated substantially since 2.1. I will give a report at the end of today, for whatever it's worth (just my .02) about any real 3G improvements. I used data all day long (Air1, DroidLive, Rhapsody) and almost never have 3G anymore, and if I do it's never for very long.
     
  15. ne0lyfeism

    ne0lyfeism Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    294
    37
    43
    Male
    In the burbs of SEPA
    Weird.. I have a solid 5 bars on 3G nearly everywhere with the new baseband. The only thing I've noticed is that on my ride to and from work via the train, there's a specific spot (I want to say .5-1 mile in length) along the ride where I go from full 3G to full 1x - but beyond that, reception has been awesome.

    Then again, I didn't really have any reception issues with the old baseband either..
     
  16. Picaso86

    Picaso86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    83
    3
    36
    New Jersey
    I am downloading this as i type... I hate the new baseband. my reception its so crappy it goes from 3G to 1X almost everytime... thanks for this info :)
     
  17. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    2 questions:

    1. anyone done this with true success and had it work?
    2. can you undo it
     
  18. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    1. Not sure but it doesnt make much sense. Why would verizon upgrade the baseband to something that would give a worse user experience.

    2. You can always reapply the new baseband.
     
  19. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    I'll be able to post my results tomorrow... Prior to updating my baseband, I was able to get a spotty signal in my office (not great, but at least something). Since I upgraded my baseband, I get NO signal in my office. I just "downgraded" so tomorrow will be a real test.

    I'm crossing my fingers...
     
  20. jackburnt

    jackburnt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    663
    63
    98
    Auburn, AL
    I'm eager to hear results.
     
  21. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Yeah, so am I! I'll know early tomorrow (I'm working from home today). So far it does seem like my 3G signal is more consistent...
     
  22. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Ok, downgraded yesterday.

    Prior to updating to the newest baseband, I never had issues with reception at all. Loved it. Updated well, because it was updating. Newest would be better, or so I thought....

    Anywho, after the newest update, I lost my reception for about a 3 mile stretch of road going to work. I live in the sticks, but we usually have great reception. Downloaded and flashed the "old" update, reception came back in that area, and all is well. No change in battery, my 3G, or anything else. Still works as usual in all other places.

    I am happier with the old.
     
  23. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    Okay... I downgraded my baseband this morning and was out of my office all day for nearly 12 hours.

    I am 100% certain of two things:

    First, the so-called baseband upgrade we got with 2.1 causes BAD data signal.

    Second, the baseband downgrade presented by the original poster COMPLETELY FIXES and ERADICATES the problem!!

    I only got 1xrtt one time the whole entire day after downgrading. Prior to downgrading, I would get 1xrtt almost ALL THE TIME.

    I don't know if all 2.1 updates loaded the new baseband, but I know for a fact mine did, and it destroyed my data signal.

    Did Verizon do this on purpose in order to free up channels on EVDO? Who knows. But what I do know is that MY Droid will be getting great Big Red data coverage and those who don't downgrade their baseband most likely will not.

    I feel like I'm part of an elite community of Droid-geniuses who are blessed with the ability to figure this stuff out and share their solutions with other like-minded (but technically-challenged) comrades like me. I mean, who ever even HEARD of anything called a baseband? The whole idea would never have occurred to me if my life depended on it!
     
  24. EAK128

    EAK128 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    118
    10
    38
    Just downgraded cause I was having some 3G speed issues, was getting 300kb down and 700kb up speeds, also would notice it going down to a crawl at times when downloading updates from market. Now with the old baseband it has jumped to 1200kb down and 800kb up. So so far so good, I'll give it a day or two to see if this holds up.
     
  25. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Reporting back... I downgraded yesterday and I am now getting a signal again in my office. The signal is spotty, but at least it exists (didn't with the 3P baseband). And, my battery life seems to be much better because my phone isn't searching for signal so much anymore. For me, the downgrade is DEFINITELY a positive!
     

Share This Page

Loading...