1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Baseband update for your froyo 2.2 coutesy of MDW

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pfilly, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. Pfilly

    Pfilly Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    348
    28
    63
    Sales Director:OnTime1405.com
    Wisconsin by way of Philadelphia

    Advertisement

  2. Branndon

    Branndon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    481
    30
    43
    Website Developer
    Orange County, CA
    Any information on the new base band? I'll wait for a few of you guiney pigs first.
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Got it now - what sort of info do you want?
     
    Branndon likes this.
  4. Branndon

    Branndon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    481
    30
    43
    Website Developer
    Orange County, CA
    Better signal? Battery life increase due to better signal and less searching? I'll give it a day or 2. Thanks John.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    That will come tomorrow - after I get to test it when I don't have access to a WiFi connection all the time.

    I like testing and all, but with the finals on I ain't about to drop WiFi and use 3G to keep up with everything around me :D
     
    Branndon likes this.
  6. Pfilly

    Pfilly Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    348
    28
    63
    Sales Director:OnTime1405.com
    Wisconsin by way of Philadelphia
    I'm getting an extra bar living in the middle of nowhere. Could also be the weather.
     
    Branndon likes this.
  7. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    149
    21
    38
    Houston, TX
    So far the main thing I've noticed is that it seems to flip between 3g and 1x less. In the, admittedly cell-tower-lacking neighborhood I'm in right now that might help my battery a lot. It used to switch so much it flickered. I'll report more whenI'm back at my home with a reliable 3g signal. Haven't really noticed a change in the numerical signal strength.
     
    Branndon likes this.
  8. MisterEff

    MisterEff Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    366
    9
    56
    I have full bars now.
     
    Branndon likes this.
  9. Branndon

    Branndon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    481
    30
    43
    Website Developer
    Orange County, CA
    Thanks guys! Nothing but good reports so far!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    Would this work for those of us still on 2.1?
     
  11. Branndon

    Branndon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    481
    30
    43
    Website Developer
    Orange County, CA
    No telling I guess until there is a tester.
     
  12. obutto

    obutto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    307
    14
    38
    I don't think this really made a difference for me. Similar to the original PRL, better at keeping 3G than the second. So I guess its the best of both worlds.
     
  13. cruud

    cruud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    159
    10
    38
    Sweet. Added 2 bars for me.
     
  14. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    On the original I kept dropping 3g and never would get it back until I did a reboot. But with this, I ain't had any problems.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  15. ooja3k

    ooja3k Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    45
    1
    16
    Less 1x / 3x switching for me! Great speed too holy f***...
     
  16. emdmao

    emdmao Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    384
    51
    53
    I'm on a 2.1 ROM and it worked fine. The baseband has nothing to do with the OS version.
     
  17. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,104
    41
    118
    Structural Engineer - Nuclear Industry
    Aurora, IL
    I will say this...since i updated to 2.2 I have had GREAT service...so...I am hesitant to try this out...
     
  18. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    373
    14
    38
    Got an error when trying to activate after install. Just ended up dialing *22899 and everything worked. Hope this baseband works better than the last...
     
  19. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    373
    14
    38
    440 down and 570 up for me. No difference from the last.
     
  20. Coogi

    Coogi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    99
    8
    16
    Wireless Consultant
    New Prague, MN
    WOW! I am freaking blind! All day today and yesterday, I was looking for the "DOWNLOAD" button, and could NOT find it till now. Just needed that beer in me :p
     
  21. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    I tried to install this and it told me programming unsuccessful? How can I fix this?
     
  22. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Does this update come with Froyo, or is it separate?

    Drrooiid
     
  23. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Just repeat till it works. Sometimes it fails, especially if you have low signal, or the network is busy.
     
  24. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    You just have to check your baseband file under Menu, Settings, About Phone. You can upgrade your baseband if your file isn't the latest version.
     
  25. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    just did this also. seems to give me 1 extra bar. time will tell.

    god having a rooted phone is great.
     

Share This Page

Loading...