• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Basics of Rooting, Recovery, and custom ROMs

Hey all,

I am new to the Android scene, but as a natural tinkerer, I'm feeling the itch to go beyond the standard settings in Android and get into rooting. I'm following along with a lot of the developments here, but I often feel like I'm missing a lot of the background knowledge and vocabulary (what is recovery, how does one access it, what are all these different programs - nandroid, adb, etc.) to have a really strong grasp of what's going on here.

Now, if this were my computer, I'd just hop right in and start following along as best I can and mess things up along the way, no biggie, I have multiple computers and I'm competent to fix them.

I don't have a landline though, so I want to be a little more prepared before I accidentally brick my link to the outside world. Is there a good "tinkering with Android primer" out there that any of you would recommend?

Also, how easy is it to get back from whence I came on the Ally? I read the thread on unrooting, and I honestly didn't understand a lot of it, so I'm just looking for a "not gonna happen" or "it'll be easy when you finally understand."

Thanks much!

Spotted, I was in the same place initially as far as the customization scene goes; the Ally was my first Android phone, and I followed a lot of the details, but was missing the big picture. I feel like I've figured it out now, so I'll try to give the high-level picture.