1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Battery Apps - which way to go??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by speedracer2001, Sep 14, 2011.

1. speedracer2001

None

Sep 14, 2011
    a/c mechanic, helicopter pilot
    Odessa, FL
    Hello All. I am NEW to these smartphones as my last phone was a simple clamshell dial n' go. I have been reading a LOT of posts regarding a vast array of topics. Battery life seems to be a BIGGIE... It appears people have used "Juice Defender" - "Y 5 Battery Saver " and "Battery Doctor". When I read the descriptions of each they all appear to do the same thing - shut down or turn on WiFi if available, monitor the battery and make other program adjustments as needed. IF this is correct then why are some using all 3 together - wouldn't they have a tendency to 'fight' each other? What is the recommendation of this forum - all three together or just use 1 app? IF one app which one is the preferred one?

On a side note since I have you, "Quick Settings" was also listed as an APP to HAVE. Again, it cycles off WiFi and other settings. How is this different than the above 3 mentioned programs. Is this program also worth installing??

Sorry to ask so many questions but at this point it is a bit confusing (still trying to figure out where the camera button is and how to stop energizing programs when I try to scroll up and down.....)

Thanks for any and all help given..

Advertisement

2. koopakid08

koopakid08 Android Expert
    None

Mar 14, 2011
    Behind you
    I use juice defender myself. I also have quick settings for quick access to all the settings. They both do different things. Juice defender is an automatic app that saves juice without you having to do anything. Quick settings is for doing things manually.

3. raynoldsk

raynoldsk Android Enthusiast
    None

Apr 4, 2011
    Pug momma
    inside my head