1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Battery drain question (using SetCPU)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Roymus, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    26
    43
    I'm trying to address poor battery life using SetCPU profiles. I am running Fresh 3.3 with a stock kernel (at the moment...planning to flash netarch 4.1.9 tonight). Anyway, I set up some SetCPU profiles to try to throttle back the CPU when the screen is off, battery is low, etc. Below are my monitor profiles and history:


    What I don't understand is why the CPU activity is so high between 8am and 12pm, because for most of this period my phone's screen was off! For some reason the profile is not really throttling back the CPU, or maybe I have a rogue app...or maybe SetCPU doesn't work with the stock kernel? I checked the "top apps" history in SetCPU and didn't see anything...the System Processes was about 7.2%, the rest were all less than 1%. Anyway, any help is appreciated...thanks!
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    What things do you have synching in background? Did you run the set cpu set up?
    you are using the stock kernel right? if you flash 4.9.1 disable all profiles, they will counteract with the HAVS. Does this happen every day? Try putting your phone in airplane mode during those hours and see if problem is still there. any more info is appreciated. Are you auto logged to gchat, facebook etc. during those hours are you in a place with weak cell signal. what are your awake/asleep percentages during that time, while screen is off, phone may not be sleeping.
     
  3. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    this is true of the stock kernel on Fresh 3.3 as well... you cannot use setpcu effectively on that kernel.

    try the airplane mode trick and see what happens. when on that setup of fresh and 3.3 and stock kernel I uninstalled setpcu...still wasn't really happy with the small improvement and flashed the netarchy kernel in my sig.

    getting 16-20 hrs now w/heavy use ...overclocking again...phone is complete yay.
     
  4. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    26
    43
    Guys: Thanks for the feedback. Lots of info to process. I did run setcpu setup, seemed to work fine. Yes on stock kernel. Yes, facebook is on, but that's it. I changed the refresh interval to 2 hours (down from 1 hr) to see if that makes any difference. If it turns out that's the problem, tough on me...I like having facebook on the phone. I'm reluctant to switch to airplane mode for longer than a couple of hours because I need the phone, but I'll give it a try. I don't know how to determine awake/asleep percentages, can one of you let me know? It seems to me like the phone is not sleeping, but how can I tell for sure...and if so, how would I fix?

    I'm flashing the netarchy kernel now. Ultimately performance means more to me than battery life...I've got chargers everywhere, but obviously I want to do whatever I can do without sacrificing performance. Thanks all...
     
  5. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    ok, disable profiles with 4.9.1
     
  6. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    26
    43
    I just flashed 4.1.9. It appeared to go fine, but when I went into SetCPU and tried to move the CPU slider the phone started to go into an endless boot loop...aargh! I was able to boot into recovery and am restoring my backup now. I plan to uninstall SetCPU, flash the kernel again, then reinstall SetCPU without profiles, just overclocking. Let me know if that sounds good...
     
  7. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    That is fine, you just need to find the sweep spot with your phone to set the cpu to or you will get the bootloop. start a little low, the increase slightly until you find your max. some phones can go higher than others
     
  8. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    26
    43
    when it goes into a bootloop, how can you stop it and go back into setcpu to back down the overclocking? I had to boot into recovery and restore...that would undo everything.
     
  9. Cruecu

    Cruecu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    103
    10
    38
    You can't check the box to start setcpu on startup. If you get a bootloop with that checked, you have to race the bootloop into the program to uncheck it. It took me 10 times before I could get into setcpu before the phone restarted again.
     
  10. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    26
    43
    Thanks for the advice, all. I've got it installed and overclocking at 1190mHz. I tried burying the slider at 1280 but it rebooted (thanks for the tip, Cruecu...avoided the bootloop!). Backed it down to 1190 and it's behaving. I've got it set on On Demand, no profiles. I've got to say...for a 20% increase in max CPU speed, I definitely notice the difference...screen transitions are crisp, scrolling is not laggy, overall performance is noticeably better. Now I've got to keep an eye on battery drain..we'll see if the new kernel makes any difference. Worth the time and trouble...thanks again for the great tips, and I hope this thread helps others!
     
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    You know that facebook will refresh each time you open it right? Mine is set never. It updates when I open it...pretty much hourly
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...