1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Battery Issue? HARD RESET

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by igzekyativ, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. musikat

    musikat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    145
    3
    36
    I'd like to know this too
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tyzing

    Tyzing Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    Does the hard reset delete all data? If not how do you perform the hard reset?
     
  3. mreortiz

    mreortiz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    teacher
    Whitehall, PA
    I agree....I'm stil waiting for those pills to work!
     
  4. ahnoff

    ahnoff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    29
    8
    16
    Atlanta, GA
    It deletes everything on your Evo, but doesn't touch your SD card so any photos or app data you have on your SD card will be fine. It just resets it to the factory settings, so it'll be set up like it was when you first bought the phone.

    To perform a hard reset:
    Settings--> Privacy--> Factory data reset
     
  5. Dose

    Dose Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    93
    3
    16
    My cell standby is at 32% hmmmmmm
     
  6. therookie2487

    therookie2487 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    brought my phone to sprint, they did the hard reset, now i have 12 hours 20 min unplugged and at 70% battery...

    yesterday the phone died after 4 hours and 6 min with running ATK then killing it in the applications manager...highly recommend the hard reset, no problems at all so far and only dropped 20 % within in the first 2 hours of work after being off the charger all night

    my awake time before the reset was VERY close to the up time...this is a problem as the phone thinks its always on, now this is not the case at all.
     
  7. wrchad23

    wrchad23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    107
    18
    38
    Denver, CO
    Did the hard reset yesterday and I'm at about 40% battery life left after 15 hours. Before my phone was dead after 5-6 of barely using it.
     
  8. wrchad23

    wrchad23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    107
    18
    38
    Denver, CO
  9. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    690
    83
    98
    YOU DON'T NEED A HARD RESET EVEN. I CAN CONFIRM, ALL I DID WAS THIS:



    THE RESULTS SPEAK FOR ITSELF:
    [​IMG]

    ***NOW, WE JUST NEED TO GET THIS TO STICK AFTER A PHONE REBOOT!***
     
    figraphiz and cnote678 like this.
  10. coolguy949

    coolguy949 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    165
    17
    38
    Interactive and Social Marketing
    Orange County, CA
    Mine was already set to CDMA auto (prl) when I checked the other day. I think that patch from HTC might have updated it.
     
  11. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    690
    83
    98
    It's not...and the update didn't address it...it says it is, but following the directions would have told you that and fixed any battery life issues.
     
    ceabbott2 likes this.
  12. coolguy949

    coolguy949 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    165
    17
    38
    Interactive and Social Marketing
    Orange County, CA
    Thanks. Looks like I didn't read the directions thoroughly. :\
     
  13. pelebkf

    pelebkf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    36
    3
    16
    South Carolina
    Correct me if I am wrong. The time without service is truly the time without service. In other words if your signal is low where you are then the battery is going to be used more ie mine is 35% and my signal is poor. So the GSM to CDMA idea may not be the answer.
     
  14. SeauxCrazy

    SeauxCrazy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    300
    62
    53
    New Orleans, LA
    I'm not doing the hard reset, as my battery life is not horrendous. 14 hours on normal usage.

    But, I did try the CDMA trick, though my percentage was 0, it couldn't hurt to try it. I do agree, that it's useless to search for something Sprint doesn't have.
     
  15. ahnoff

    ahnoff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    29
    8
    16
    Atlanta, GA
    With all due respect, I didn't have to mess with the GSM/CDMA settings to solve for the battery life problems I was experiencing. I just did the hard reset while the phone was charged/still hooked up to the charger and it fixed everything. I did, however, go in and check my network settings and saw it was already on CDMA, which I don't think was false considering my Time without signal was only around 6%, which would easily account for my underground subway commute.

    I don't think it's a good idea to have people switch this until they check their Time Without Signal after having their phones on for a few hours.
     
  16. cabbie

    cabbie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,333
    553
    213
    I've had nothing short of awesome battery life since doing the GSM/CDMA trick. This seriously needs to be patched by HTC/Sprint and they could make all battery life caveats that are all over the internet go away and the EVO would stand dominant over iphone4
     
  17. josh80

    josh80 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    This is all very good information and not sure if it will help me that much given that in my office I have very poor signal so I am probably hosed anyway you look at it but I did the GSM/CDMA trick so we will see how well that works. I am a bit hesitant to do a hard reset. I have two questions though:
    1.) From my understanding all of my photos and apps will not go away as they are on the SD card, but will all of my contacts and settings be affected?
    2.) This is a bit of a noobie question but hey I have only had android for a week now... where do I go/how do I to check my "time without service"?
     
  18. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    100
    25
    43
    1) true about pictures and video and yes all settings vanish.. but really, don't you want more battery life?? update your contacts in gmail and then when you load gmail after the hard reset.. voila all contacts there
    2) menu>settings>about phone>battery>battery use>cell standby
    note:i do not even have time without signal listed because of this trick...

    do the hard reset.. its worth it..
     
  19. etm001

    etm001 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    9
    4
    6
    The only time I ever received this message was when I accidentally enabled the hotspot feature. The message stopped appearing after I turned off the hotspot.
     
  20. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    100
    25
    43
    it happend a couple of times.. basically i couldnt get on 3g (i turned on 4g and connected to it no problem, then turn off 4g and bam, the message again)

    i called the Sprint Cust Serv about it and the person i spoke with was surprised that i was able to get on 3g after the message appeared (because apparently it fixed itself since i was able to get on a few minutes later)... he told me to periodically update the "profile" to stop it from happening again
     
  21. higgins14

    higgins14 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    This happened to my Eco and my wives hero yesterday. The sprint rep walked me through the process of fixing it, i am not really sure why they both had the same problem at the same time
     
  22. septro

    septro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    116
    39
    43
    Two things have given me 12-15hr battery to 26+ battery life.. the CDMA fix and turning off and logging out of Google Talk. I don't use the service so I don't miss it - but dam it must be chatty as all get out.

    I am not shi@#$ting you in saying this is the best smartphone battery life I've had on a phone. Only my e-mail only blackberries last longer (much longer no less).
     
  23. Zippydo

    Zippydo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    Well I can go about 10 hours on a charge before I start getting nervous and toss it back on a charger. Thing is I usually have a charging option with me. I have a portable batter charger and a car charger.

    I've been monitoring threads as well as my battery performance. I'm honestly not complaining. The phone rocks and if I have to alter some of the ways I use the phone, like less syncing with social networks or email, then so be it.

    I went in and performed the GSM to CDMA change this evening and it does seem like the battery is leveling off. I'm going to attempt the 'charge', turn off - charge, turn on - charge...trick though in the morning just to see.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Ravensthief

    Ravensthief Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    43
    2
    16
    Library Assistant
    Bedford, TX
    Turned off the GSM yesterday night and so far my time without signal is 0%. This seems to be a great fix. We'll see how it does during my 9-5 today!
     
  25. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    my battery life is fine. i did notice the battery meter has been incorrect. i let the phone run down the battery until it shut off and then charged it up while it was off. i did this the first day or 2 i had the phone.

    i noticed while playing with the phone that powering down and then back up that my battery meter would raise significantly. so that prompted me to run the battery all the way down.

    someone in another thread said that he talked to htc and was told charge the phone until the light goes green. leave the charger on and power down the phone. you should see the charger light go amber. let it charge to green then power it back up and then back down. the light should go amber again. keep repeating this until the powered off amber light only stays lit for about 1-2 minutes. the first couple of times it may take an additional 20 minutes or so of charge.

    i did this last night and it definitely took more charge when powering down. took me about 6-8 tries to get the amber light to only stay lit for 1-2 minutes. i'll have to see if it improves battery life.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...