• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Battery life - advice needed

ship69

Jul 10, 2012
UK
Hi

I need some advice on charging my Galaxy Note 2.

A) Is it bad for the life of the battery to leave it on charge (e.g. charging it over night if it is already 60 or 70 % charged?)

B) Is it better for the life of the battery to trickle charge (on a slow charger) or to charge it on a faster charger?

Thanks

J

The best charging scenario it's too trickle charge and unplug it the moment it reaches 100%. Slow charging is ideal because it doesn't create too much heat. Overcharging your batteries well shorten it, but I don't think it will drastically shorten the lifespan of the battery if you leave it overnight. But then again I'm not an expert. That's just what I believe in. :)

Sent using the force

Reactions: Sepero
Upvote 0
If you are obsessed with taking care of your battery, the best thing would be to charge it up to around 80 percent and re-charge it when it falls to about twenty. In other words: keep it between 80 and 20 at all time - not higher, not lower.

This will extend your battery life to some three years. One (me for example) could argue that it's a useless practice because you'll probably switch phones anyway within that time. You can just treat that battery like a bitch (charge it all night even though its full, have it drop all the way to zero, expose it to high temperatures etc etc) and when it's baked you just get a new battery (android, yay) or it's the next owner of your phone's problem.

Reactions: Sepero
Upvote 0
OK so the consensus is trickle charge is better than fast charge.

If I charge slowly over night, is that significantly better than a fast charger overnight?