1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Battery Not Charging

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NE_Phil, May 26, 2011.

  1. NE_Phil

    NE_Phil Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    48
    5
    36
    Upstate NY
    I'm trying to charge the battery using the USB cable. USB is active and its set to charge only but the battery status continues to show "not charging".

    It's plugged into a charging port on a powered usb hub. I have tried all the other USB ports on the PC, too. Same result. No problem charging when I'm at home using the AC plug.

    What am I missing?

    Thanks in advance,

    Phil
     

    Advertisement

  2. tkahike

    tkahike Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    Is it the same USB cable? I carry my BB one with me, it charges it fine, just slow. If not, maybe a bad cable?
     
  3. spmillsii

    spmillsii Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    If you can transfer files to the phone it should charge put that lame vzw manager software on system
    x​
     
  4. inkdesigner

    inkdesigner Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    98
    16
    28
    Male
    Chemist and EMT
    USA
    I see the same issue. I have a USB cable that I was using to charge my Incredible in my car. The cable is connected to Amzer Nano 5V USB Car Charger For HTC, HTC DROID Incredible PB31200 - Chargers - Fommy.com

    It worked just fine. When I moved to the Commando, I find it will not work, no matter what mode I set the phone to for the USB cable. When I connect the phone to a standard car charger, it charges just fine. It is almost as if the Commando can tell the difference between a USB cable alone and a standard car charger. Perhaps enough power is not translated thru a USB cable?

    Inkdesigner
     
  5. gioakjoe

    gioakjoe Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011

    May 8, 2011
    38
    7
    16
    Programmer
    Houston, tx
    i think it requires more power then some phones I noticed that some of my usb chargers with less power raiting didint work.
     
  6. tkahike

    tkahike Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    None of my BB chargers work for the phone (charge half-way) and the USB from my laptop takes forever.

    The car USB works with no problems.
     
  7. y0bailey

    y0bailey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    65
    8
    16
    Anyone have a confirmed car charger adapter that works? None of the crappy ones I have work. I need one with more power! Any suggestions?
     
  8. y0bailey

    y0bailey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    65
    8
    16
    So figured out why mine wouldn't charge.

    The charger I had only supplied 500mah. Not enough to charge the commando.

    Ordered a high power 2100mah charger (labeled to charge ipad and other high current devices) that will do the trick. Make sure you pick a high current DC to USB converter that is shown to charge the ipad and android tablets. You will be golden.
     
  9. Gregg59

    Gregg59 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have a Motorola OE 12VDC charger that does a good job.
     
  10. Gone Commando

    Gone Commando Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    $5, bought at five below works well with mine. It has the cord built on to the 12v adapter. Had a DURACELL with univeral USB port and it did't work
     
  11. joel745

    joel745 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    45
    2
    16
    I ran into a charging problem also, this was my fix. The battery was not seated tight enough so I removed then reinstalled the battery making sure it was a tight fit.......problem solved.
     
  12. kb0nly

    kb0nly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Here is what i just discovered also...

    Was at a friends house overnight for a bday party and normally i put my phone in the cradle at home but didn't grab a cord to bring with since i generally use car charger if away from home... Well we tried every micro usb charger in the house, none worked except for one. The only difference? The ones that wouldnt work were rated for 500mA and the one that worked was rated for 700mA.

    My stock Casio charger shows 700mA i believe, will have to dig out from behind nightstand. An LG model charger that i have from my previous phone works fine which is 700mA and the micro usb from another phone that i have which is 500mA also doesn't work like all the others it tried the other day.

    So i would appear the Commando is power hungry. I have a 1 amp rated car charger cord that charges every phone i have ever tried it on, it was an expensive Motorola model but its filtered and fused and well worth the investment as most car chargers i have used before cause RF noise to my radio equipment.

    Was thinking.... Just tried another charger, the one for the Kindle we have, its a 500mA unit also. When i plug in any of these 500mA units it says USB MODE or something like that on the screen, it varies, but never says charging or not charging.
     
    NE_Phil likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...