1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root BAttery Pull and phone went to stock?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigvandal, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. bigvandal

    bigvandal Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    222
    40
    43
    Ok so I was rooted but had no special Rom flashed. I noticed my phone the last few days was maxed out on the RAM. Im talking like 20mb free constantly. I would reset and it would go back to 20-25 mb free. So jus tnow I said thought I hadent done a battery pull in a while. Pulled the battery and my phone is back to stock!! None of my apps, not rooted, nothing? just like I just bought the phone. Now ofcourse I have back ups I can restore I just think this is funky. Has anyone else encountered this or know why this happened??
     

    Advertisement

  2. JETFIRE007

    JETFIRE007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Well checking the memory card slot, making sure it didnt come loose or fell out, would help...

    Otherwise... you can check the memory card and find out if it that also erased..
     
    bigvandal likes this.
  3. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Well for one, there is something wrong with how much RAM you are getting.
    Hmm, maybe when your battery pulled data and cache got corrupted, but it doesn't explain why your not rooted.
     
    bigvandal likes this.
  4. bigvandal

    bigvandal Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    222
    40
    43
    How much ram do you guys usually have free?
     
  5. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    In the hundreds or low hundreds(for me 180 to 290) ,LOL, you look like you running the intercept.
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    With the way the android OS works, you won't have much free RAM. Android uses RAM differently than, say, Windows. On Android, having your RAM nearly full is a good thing. It means that when you relaunch an app you've previously opened, the app launches quickly and returns to its previous state. The OS will have many apps/processes cached in RAM while they are not actually doing anything and will close down things used less when it needs to use the RAM for something else.

    I believe I usually have between 30-70MB of RAM left free. This isn't Windows unused RAM doesn't make it go faster. You shouldn't need to do a battery pull (or a task killer) to clear it out. The phone will kill the tasks when it needs the RAM.
     
    bigvandal likes this.
  7. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Well, imo, the less RAM you have, the slower your phone will be till reboot or till apps are killed(preferably naturally) . There are ways and tweaks that the modified OS can reduce how much RAM a app can use while not in use.
     
  8. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Actually it helps to have around 40 to 50mb free as opposed to 100+ on our phones. agentc13 is right, android utilizes ram much different than windows. In the case of the intercept, we needed as much RAM as we could because we were using a modified JIT and the heap sizes were almost the same size as the free ram and it would run into problems, and plus that phone had slow RAM and not much of it. On this phone not having a huge amount of free ram isnt that big of a deal. Also task killers do more harm them good. Google task killers on android and why you dont need them. There are several articles that are pretty good in there.
     
  9. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    You need to read up on how an android OS (Specifically 2.0 and newer) use RAM. Here, here, and here are posts describing in more detail what I was saying. Using a task killer or doing a battery pull will make the next few things you do go faster, but in the long run it uses more battery and goes against how the OS is designed.

    The biggest thing as far as how slow/fast your android phone will operate is your CPU, not your RAM.

    BTW, this is a very common misunderstanding as most users are uses to Windows/Mac/etc. in which having the free RAM is better. This also goes into more detail.
     
  10. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Depends what you are using the phone for, for that boot. If you have LOW RAM, your phone is guaranteed to slow down, the android OS isn't set to kill too many apps for RAM space. The best, imo, is setting how much RAM apps can use when not in use(background).
     
    GilbertXg likes this.
  11. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    The OS will kill the least used apps in order to run what you need it to (however much RAM is needed is how much it will free up). LOW AVAILABLE RAM will not make your phone slower, in fact having the apps cached and ready to go make it faster when you need them again.

    Here is another post (this one from one of the Android OS developers) speaking on the subject.
     
  12. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    I didn't see your post after Brandons LOL:D

    EDIT: Checking links now, always happy to learn something new/different
     
  13. bigvandal

    bigvandal Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    222
    40
    43
    Wow i appreciate all your responses I had no clue how different Android used ram compared to Windows. Thank you for your help. I won't be so worried when I see the low RAM
     
  14. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    It's a common misconception. I had it when I started on android.
     

Share This Page

Loading...