1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

battery ran down while in bag

Discussion in 'Moto 360' started by dan55, Apr 12, 2016.

  1. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,950
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,950
    292
    263
    hi all.

    odd one..I put my sport in my bag for a couple of hours and when I went to get it later, battery totally dead! ... it had over 40% when I left it

    cheers
    Dan
     

    Advertisement

  2. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,072
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,072
    1,028
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    It could be something touching the screen, keeping it from going to off or ambient (depending on your settings). Putting it in theatre mode would prevent that.

    Then again, from time to time my watch drains like mad just because it feels like it ( for no good reason that in can find. )
     
    dan55 and marctronixx like this.
  3. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,436
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,436
    4,111
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Not odd. If the watch is on then it's consuming power.

    As the post above mentioned, something perhaps was touching the screen, sensors were on and sensing "movement", etc etc etc etc...

    Next time just turn it off if you are not using it and it's in a bag, etc.
     
    electricpete likes this.
  4. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,072
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,072
    1,028
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    movement... good point, if the bag was moving, there may have been "tilt to wake" actuating.

    I agree turning off the watch is most fool proof.

    Going to theatre mode is almost as good... keeps the screen off in spite of touches / tilts / notifications and it's convenient...
    • from home swipe down, left, tap to activate theatre mode
    • press hardware button to turn on screen which exits theatre mode... no waiting for reboot.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  5. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,950
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,950
    292
    263
    thanks guys..yes probably turning off would have been best
    the bag wasn't moving and ambient mode was off
    cheers
     
  6. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    I don't think it's happened on my MKII 360 but the MKI did that every once in a while. Something would just get stuck on and it would die in an hour or two. A reboot and recharge fixed it right back up.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  7. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,950
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,950
    292
    263
    thanks...turned it off this time
     
  8. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,950
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,950
    292
    263
    hi guys.

    I charged my sport model up last night but when I came to check it in morning, no charge!

    it was just placed on the desk so don't think the screen would have been stuck on and I have screen anyways on setting turned off

    ....faulty battery or watch maybe?

    thanks
    Dan
     
  9. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    Hi Dan,

    Didn't you just have it die recently in your bag? Twice in pretty rapid succession like that makes me suspect. Maybe try a factory reset just to wipe it clean and see how it acts. If you've already done that, or if it does it again, I'd consider a replacement.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  10. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,950
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,950
    292
    263
    hi.
    yes good memory it did..ok thanks will keep a close eye on it
    cheers
     
  11. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,436
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,436
    4,111
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Merged thread...

    Could be a rogue app, the watch may not have been on the stand properly. Etc..

    Agree, factory reset and resync. Since it's a sport model have you gotten it wet/had it in humidity?
     
    dan55 likes this.
  12. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,950
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,950
    292
    263
    hi. no don't get it near water..just like the color
    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...