1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Battery usage. Does this sound reasonable to you?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hawker, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I fully charged my phone and left it on standby.
    I switched on the screen after an hour, went to check the battery status, and it was at 99%. Left the screen timeout on its own (30 seconds)

    After 2 and a half hours I checked the battery level again. It is at 95%

    Android OS 48%
    Display 19%
    Cell standby 13%
    Phone idle 10%
    Maps 7%
    Android System 2%

    Display seems a little high to me as its only been briefly (but according to the phone, its been on for 6 minutes, which is way off the mark)

    Not sure why maps has taken a 7% chunk

    Would you say a 5% drop on idle is about the norm after 2.5 hours?
     

    Advertisement

  2. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Thats quite high if you ask me.
    I put mine in flight mode overnight for around 8.5 hours and I only loose 2-5%
    Check your wake time against your screen on time. If your phone is awake while the screen is off then its down to wakelocks.
     
  3. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    yup, i'd be happy with 5% drop over 2.5 hours. the display looks normal too, i dont know how accurate the percentage would be but yeah, i dont think there's anything to worry about.

    is ur latitude signed in? even if its not set to automatically update ur location, having latitude signed causes battery drain, it seems to run in the background. thats the only reason i can think of for maps to be on ur battery usage list
     
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I have "Detect your Location" checked in latitude.
    What are the implications if I set it to "Set your location" or "Do not update your location"
    "Enable automatic check ins" is also ticked. What is this for?

    I had 4 marks in the "Screen On" graph
    I couldnt count the marks on the "Awake". 50+ at least i would say.
    Is this bad then?
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,837
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,837
    3,567
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I usually lose 0-1% battery during the night. But I suppose that could be down to freezing most of the apps that were constantly running.
     
  6. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Yes, this will be more than likely what is causing your battery drain.
    If you dont use latitude I suggest you sign out of it and then compare your battery drain after.
     
  7. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    What actually signs me into latitude then?
    If i phyisically go into latitude then it seems to sign me in automatically, but I didnt manually open latitude before it was mentioned above.
     
  8. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Once you sign out you should be ok. Just check in the options that there is no auto sign in or anything. I dont use it ever so i've never had a problem but I know others have.

    If its not latitue then it could be another app thats constantly asking for your location.
     
  9. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,442
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,442
    5,653
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Latitude > Menu > Settings > Sign out of Latitude (Latitude automatically signs you in when you open it)
     
  10. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,837
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,837
    3,567
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Sorry, of topic. I assume you only keep your phone on at night stop the alarm goes off in the morning. If so you might like this app.

    https://market.android.com/details?id=eu.chainfire.nomoarpowah&feature=search_result

    I haven't tried it out so it could end up using more battery during the day than it saves at night. But it might work.
     
  11. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    I cant see any auto-sign in option in latitude.
    Only things similar are those "detect your location" and "enable automatic check-in" options which I have now disabled, so see how this affects it.

    What will disabling these options actually do? Will it mean I will no longer see my current location when I use Google Maps?
     
  12. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Yes, but what would have caused a sign in to latitude without actually opening it (assuming this is the case) as Maps had initially used up 7% of my battery without manually doing anything map/latitude related tasks

    Also, another question, if you go into Settings, About phone, Battery usage then press the graph on the top, this opens the wifi/awake/screen on info.

    What does this graph represent? It states the time the battery has been in use since off charge on the top, but what is the time figure at the bottom of the graph?
    For example, on top it says 4h 27m 54s on battery, and at the bottom it says 4h 11m 52s?
     
  13. pavangattu

    pavangattu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Aug 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    As some one mentioned on top, where can i find option for

    "Check your wake time against your screen on time"
     
  14. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Yes but it also allows me to monitor wakelocks better and also if I need to see the time I dont have to turn the phone on. I had seen it before but thanks anyway :)

    I think it just disables those features in Latitude not google maps. Maps should still detect your location (although I could be wrong)

    It may not be latitude thats causing the wakelock, it could be another app asking for location.

    Menu>Settings>About Phone>Battery Usage
    Press the graph and it will show blue bars next to awake time and screen on.
     
  15. Hammerpgh

    Hammerpgh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    73
    0
    15
    Up until a few days ago I was only losing 3-4 % overnight (max) but it's increased for some reason since then. Last night it dropped by around 3.5% per hour whilst on idle and with data services switched off. Any idea why it would suddenly be showing such an increased drain with no activity?
     
  16. DarkInertia

    DarkInertia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Are you rooted? If you are, you should look into the processes that are running behind what shows as "android os". There are certain processes that sometimes kick in randomly when the phone is idle. You can freeze them with BloatFreezer. It solved the problem for me, I haven't been monitoring my battery life recently but I believe I lose around 1% every 2 standby hours.


    Anyway, whether you're rooted or not, I recommend SystemPanel and Battery monitor widget to see some info on what is really going on and statistics of battery usage.
     
  17. Hammerpgh

    Hammerpgh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    73
    0
    15
    Thanks for the reply... No my phone is not rooted. Only got it last week and a bit nervous of attempting that so quickly as I am new to Android. Will certainly look into it though as it appears it is the way to go to get the most out of it.
     
  18. DarkInertia

    DarkInertia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I understand your fear of rooting, I was planning to root mine as soon as the warranty ends, when suddenly I discovered I bought it rooted. So lucky me :p
    I think there are many ways to improve battery life without rooting. Besides, ice cream-sandwich is on the way... It is due to be released before the end of the year. Probably will improve battery life and everything else... Unless Google is rushing it to counter ios 5... hope it won't be half-baked..
     
  19. Hammerpgh

    Hammerpgh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    73
    0
    15
    Well, it seems my problem of battery draining too quickly on idle was a simple one to resolve. My battery was down to 5% yesterday evening after just under 22 hours so I put it on charge until it was full and then switched it off for a few hours. Put it back on when I woke in the night and after 5 hours on idle it had just dropped to 98% :) Much more how it was behaving before. Now 6 and a half hours in and following a phone call, several texts and checking a few things it's on 93% so it would seem there must have been something in the background sucking the battery dry before I switched it off.

    Definitely will be switching it off now and then just to clear things out in future.
     

Share This Page

Loading...