1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Battery Usage failure-how I fixed mine

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EinZtein, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. EinZtein

    EinZtein Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    364
    36
    43
    Charlotte, NC
    Ok been hammering on this all day.

    Working not working, couldn't figure out what was breaking it and what was fixing it.

    Mine breaks when I reboot. Clearing data and cache does not solve or fix the problem.

    When broke, I open my shortcut for storage and that fixes mine, battery usage works and also for all battery widgets too.
    This is repeatable on mine.

    Hope this helps.
     

    Advertisement

    mxsjw likes this.
  2. mxsjw

    mxsjw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    1,311
    171
    143
    Have you tried this?

    Reboot phone and mess around with some other apps for 10 min then check the battery usage. A few of us think that it force closes cause it has no data to report right after boot, after a few minutes, it actually has something and will work.

    ETA, I did a Factory Reset this morning and mine no longer force closes at all. Rebooted and opened the usage within 1 minute...worked just fine. *shrugs*
     
  3. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    But doing a factory reset is such a PITA! I did that once to fix the stupid "no more ringer" bug and it took me 3 days to get it back to the way I had it. Obviously, I'm not rooted or have anythign backed up. If there's a quick 'n easy way to restore all settings/apps/etc, please share.
     
  4. mxsjw

    mxsjw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    1,311
    171
    143
    There's not, but it really only took me about an hour.
    Screen Shots
    AppBrain
    and LPP backup.
    The tweaking of the settings is the biggest pain in the ass, I don't remember what each and every change was I made, oh well...change them as I catch it.

    and I'm gonna have to do it again when I get my new phone, I've got a bad sensor in video mode.
     
  5. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Screw it. I may try calling the number someone posted he got from tech support *22899 and see if that helps.
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  7. Capeguy

    Capeguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    50
    5
    16
    Cape Cod, Ma.
    I fixed mine by shutting down the phone and pulling the battery for a few minutes. I then rebooted and it's been working fine ever since.
     
  8. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    393
    11
    38
    mine, even after a number of reboots, and battery pulls still FC's
    Im ready to go back to 2.1!
     
  9. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    Hate keep saying this for fear of jinxing myself but my battery manager has NEVER locked up.
    Never had another battery monitor app on my phone either.

    Also, I've never done anything other than turn my phone off or do a battery pull....ever. I also do a *228 weekly, both option 1 and 2. Learned this by being on Verizon for a long time now.
     
  10. BuTbKa

    BuTbKa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    825
    134
    93
    SoCal
    you better not try it:)
     
  11. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    393
    11
    38
    Well I don't think I will but the thought of sbfing has crossed my mind, since I hear that might fix some issues
     
  12. mwm523

    mwm523 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    Dude... if you installed the OTA you CANNOT SBF back to 2.1... You will brick your phone. There are many many threads here and on all the other forums about this.
     
  13. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    393
    11
    38


    Dude... you've obviously not seen the updates...
     
  14. mwm523

    mwm523 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    Show me an update that says a full 2.2 SBF is available to flash?
     
  15. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    393
    11
    38
  16. mwm523

    mwm523 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    That's not a full SBF anyway. It's only system files which which can be used if you hosed up your phone with themes or other customization.

    There's still no full 2.2 SBF out there. The Verizon stores don't even have it yet. And there's no way to go back to 2.1 if you've done the 2.2 OTA because Moto changed the bootloader.

    So I'll say it again - don't try to SBF back to 2.1 unless you want to be stuck in boot loop.
     
  17. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    393
    11
    38
    so I did a factory reset, and voila, battery manager works fine. took about 2 hours to get all my settings / apps / widgets reinstalled. Titanium backup ftw. wish there was an easier one. I had the google restore setting on, but it didnt seem to help this time 'round
     
  18. C0n57an71n3

    C0n57an71n3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    287
    26
    43
    If you check the two options in Privacy, factory restores are a dream. It took me ~30 mins to get back to exactly the same way I had it.
     
  19. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    Where does it backup to? Is that the online sync?
     
  20. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    That's definitely not the only problem (I don't know if it's one of the problems, but it's not the only thing).

    There's absolutely a cause to it, something that triggers it to start force closing. A few days ago, I was using Battery Manager multiple times throughout the day. All of a sudden, I opened it and it force closed. After that, it kept force closing, over and over.

    I tried the "Storage and SD card" trick, and boom, it started working again.

    Then, yesterday, it started force closing again. The Storage and SD card trick didn't help. Eventually, it started working again on its own (or, rather, I don't know what started it working again).
     
  21. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    What are the steps for the storage and SD card trick?
     
  22. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Just go into your settings and press the Storage and SD Card menu entry, the back out and go into your battery manager.
     
  23. EinZtein

    EinZtein Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    364
    36
    43
    Charlotte, NC
    I'm probably jigging myself here, but I haven't had a force close in a whole.

    Rebooted alot lately too.
     
  24. EinZtein

    EinZtein Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    364
    36
    43
    Charlotte, NC
    There's def something killing it though.
     
  25. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    I went into recovery, cleared cache, then did the SD card bit for good luck. Fixed the FC so far.
     

Share This Page

Loading...