1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Battery widget with 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fliptwister, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. fliptwister

    fliptwister Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    210
    17
    38
    I was having major issues with battery drain on 2.1 (second leak) and after reading some threads here I removed the HTC battery widget. This appears to have solved the problem. Apparently the phone was not going to sleep when I had the HTC widget running. The awake time was nearly what the up time was. Without the HTC widget I do not have this issue.

    Has anyone ran the Android Battery Widget on 2.1 and does it create the same problem?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. NPH-

    NPH- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Texas
    how do you actually remove the HTC battery widget?

    ive noticed a significant amount of battery loss as well (and I have the 1750 battery and it has gotten worse!!)
     
  3. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,366
    813
    Right Behind You
    Yep, the stupid HTC battery widget is a battery kill widget for some reason.

    I have not tried the one you mentioned, but I can say the vizBattery works very well and has not caused me any problems.
     
  4. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,366
    813
    Right Behind You
    Just uninstall it.
     
  5. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Were you putting the HTC battery widget on your main home screen? I have it and have always had it, but I've never suspected it as a battery hog. It doesn't even update itself until I visit the screen where it resides.
     
  6. omfgwtflawl

    omfgwtflawl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    171
    6
    36
    Dover, DE
    Leave it to the company that makes your phone to make something that will shorten the life of your phone, tsk tsk.
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,366
    813
    Right Behind You
    When I had it, I had it on my home screen and a few of the other 7 screens. Never noticed a problem with it until 2.1 V2. Then it was like something was just draining the battery almost faster than I could charge it on some days. Spare parts told me it was the battery widget and once removed everything has been great.
     
  8. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    I am using 2.1v2 as well but root. I have no battery drain issues with the HTC Batt Widget. Could it be because I have root? I dont really see that being a reason. My sleep time is normal like how it was before rooting. Right around 5-9%.
     
  9. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    315
    14
    38
    USAF
    California
    How do you know it was the battery widget? When I checked spare parts, it said sense was a major battery killer, but that seems normal to me. Does it show the battery widget as a separate item in the list?
     
  10. ttran97

    ttran97 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    572
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    572
    82
    78
    California
    Battery widgets always drain my phone's batteries. Kind of ironic. I just use Anycut and made a shortcut to Battery Info and I tap that to see the percentage remaining. I think you can do something similar in Spare Parts, but that's too many taps for me to get to.
     
  11. fliptwister

    fliptwister Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    210
    17
    38
    I have Smart Monitor and it is essentially one tap. It works for now. I will try the Android widget once I'm sure there are no issues with my current configuration.

    I'm loving how much time I'm getting on battery now. I turned on phone 8 hours ago and I'm at 85%. This is obviously with very little use.
     
  12. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    I've noticed that by not monitoring my battery all the time, I don't think so much about it and never really have an issue. If i see 60% battery, i get freaked out kinda, but if theres no percentage, all i see is 3/4 of a green bar, which is much more soothing. Call it a placebo, but it works for me at least.
     
  13. MrBojenglz

    MrBojenglz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    78
    2
    16
    NJ
    I use the battery widget on 2.1 v2 and don't have any issues. I also just installed JuiceDefender and got fantastic battery life (for an eris) the other day. 9-5 with mild use and I was still at 90%. The next day I installed Calendar Pad which is pretty cool but since then I lose at least 10% an hour WITH NO USE. I uninstalled it today so we'll see if that was the culprit for sure.
     
  14. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    315
    14
    38
    USAF
    California
    Problem is, I just can't be scientific with my battery testing... I just don't have time. I had a particularly bad battery day today, so I uninstalled the widget and changed Facebook sync from hourly to daily. Not sure why I left it at hourly, since I only use FB for Sense to get contact photos and birthdays.
     

Share This Page

Loading...