1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root BB 0.2 Froyo ... "Epic"? ... Really?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by messenger13, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Am I missing something?

    I'm installing now, but I was expecting something "epic" in the changelog. Just my opinion of course. Or maybe my definition of "epic" is a little different. I ain't mad ... just sayin'. :)

    What says you?
     

    Advertisement

  2. altimax98

    altimax98 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    718
    615
    163
    Geico Insurance Agent
    Lakeland Fl
    maybe this has something to do with it:

    -Added Google DNS for a faster and safer online experience

    im not flashing cause i just got the other multi colored rom in cyan for me and pink for my fiance... i love the theming that went into the rom, i cant stand plain jane roms, and even nextheme isnt doin it for me anymore.
     
  3. luthi3n

    luthi3n Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    Same here. I'm using jrummy's new one in blue/cyan/whatever it is and love it. If there were a way to use that theme with BB, I'd probably switch over. Love the themes that rummy has.
     
  4. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,104
    41
    118
    Structural Engineer - Nuclear Industry
    Aurora, IL
    maybe it is much faster? I am waiting for the next nexbeastfro or whatever :)
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I'd like to see a mashup with the darkglass and NexTheme - all the icons from Next plus all the black glass effects all rolled into one.

    That'd be my theme made in heaven. I may try to make a mashup myself if I cannot find a good one....
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    LOL My DROID won't even boot up with 0.2 installed. Restoring back to my own custom-themed Fabolous ROM. ;)
     
  7. MSUgEEk

    MSUgEEk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,696
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    3,696
    1,418
    313
    Electrical Design Engineer
    Northwestern Alabama
    I heard about all the troubles with 0.2 last night and decided to keep my custom themed 0.1. Pete did good with 0.1, not hearing good things about 0.2.
     
  8. Scooter70

    Scooter70 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    237
    27
    43
    0.2 is working fine for me other than the fact that apps automatically go to the SD card when you install them. If you want to put them on the internal storage you have to move them manually with TiBu.

    My Quadrant scores were slightly higher than 0.1 but probably within error tolerance. (1144 vs 1133)
     
  9. Pfilly

    Pfilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    348
    28
    63
    Sales Director:OnTime1405.com
    Wisconsin by way of Philadelphia
    Some of my apps decided to show up today wwhole 1 or 2 are still lost in SD card or phone land. Weird
     
  10. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    I've had more reboots on .2 than I've had on any previous bugless beasts combined. Thinking about doing a nandroid if it happens again today.
     
  11. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    If you press teh search button and type the app name you can still launch it.
     
  12. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    zz don't knock it till uve tried it o_O
     
  13. Haywire

    Haywire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    308
    1
    56
    After reading some of the users thoughts, I may hold off on .2 for now.. But I'm loving v.1!
     
  14. godfish

    godfish Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    23
    1
    36
    I did two things last night, I installed BB0.2 and installed Chevy01 1ghz and my phone is running much faster and cooler. I do seam to have found one bug, when I get the low power warning one time the phone rebooted and sometimes the charging light doesn't come on when plugged in.
     
  15. wadsface

    wadsface Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    61
    19
    18
    Seattle
    I flashed this yesterday, had some reboot issues, wiped/reflashed and it hasn't had a problem since. With stock 800 kernal it runs smooth, cool, and its still kickin' the next morning after playing with it all evening off the charger.

    IMO Petes ROMs are never about how blue or pink you can make the system icons, but about speed and functionality. And honestly if you are crying about a ROM not working 100% and being bug-free the same day it comes out you shouldn't be installing bleeding edge stuff on your phone...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  16. gwwjpd

    gwwjpd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    +1
    I too would like to try this mashup that you speak of.
    I'm getting random reboots with BB V0.2
    Restoring stable backup of BBV0.1
     
  17. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    411
    47
    43
    Bloomer, WI
    My phone rebooted constantly with 0.2 or it would freeze up out of nowhere requiring a battery pull (even those fancy new button combos for rebooting that Pete put into this ROM wouldn't work). And the auto apps2sd feature wasn't as great as advertised as it messed up all my apps with widgets (would have preferred the option of just running a script to enable this for those that want it). I love the work Pete has done (and have donated to his work many times). Since I rooted, BB ROMs (more specifically, Fab's versions of them) have been the only ones I've kept on my phone for more than a few hours (until today). But "epic" isn't the word I'd use to describe this ROM.

    And, to be completely honest, on my phone, JRummy's Froyo ROMs are much faster, much less buggy and offer more options for customization. I didn't think anything would get me to switch from BB, but JRummy has done something amazing with his ROM.
     
  18. bluemsw

    bluemsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    90
    6
    16
    Tech
    so. cal
    Since flashing. I have had major problems with all wiidgets not working after power cycle. Went back to 0.1.
     
  19. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Pete is evidently aware of the reboot problems that some are having and is working on a fix...

    My biggest issues are:

    1. Auto-Apps2sd...I turned this off w/the terminal command that was provided
    2. By-passing Google setup when phone is wiped - I didn't experience this as I installed fine over v .1, but if this is messing w/auto restoring of apps, it needs to be fixed/undone
    3. Could not run Chevy 1.0GHz LV or jdflg's 900MHz LV kernels (ran fine on v .1) - endless M logo boot loops. Nandroided back to the stock 800MHz kernel and it's running great, but want other options to work.

    Overall the update to .2 has been fine so far, it is an "experimental" ROM based on a leaked RC so I expect some twitchiness.

    It is epic for me in that it has been much more reliable/stable than .1 on my 2.2 phobic phone. :)
     
  20. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    I also uninstalled 0.2. My whole google setup was screwed. I had to setup manually, and didn't bring down any of my apps, and few of my settings were restored. Also I didn't see those new power button shutdown menus everyone was talking about. Maybe I needed to run scripts to get those though.

    Anyway, Pete's stuff runs hotter than any other roms, which I'm not a fan of, for no good reason.

    Joe
     
  21. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    Unfortunately, I also restored back to simply stunning 4.0 after 10 minutes with BB 0.2. I got frustrated by the launcher losing my apps and didn't see any wholesale benefit over SS 4. Another time, another ROM. I'll revisit Pete again, I'm sure.
     
  22. wadsface

    wadsface Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    61
    19
    18
    Seattle
    For those of you having troubles, try Pete's suggestion

    via Twitter
    PeterAlfonso: #BuglessBeast #Droid users, raise your minimum clockspeed to 250 rather than 125 to fix shutdown/reboot issues. Fix coming tonight
     
  23. ryanbump

    ryanbump Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Houston, TX
    I tried BB v0.2 yesterday, but it was too bland after using Kangerade. Hopefully we can get a themed version soon!

    But other than the lack of "flashiness" on BB, it ran smooth as silk and was extremely responsive even without over clocking past 800Mhz.
     
  24. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Maybe that's why I've been fine...raised mine to 250 very early on...
     
  25. obutto

    obutto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    307
    14
    38
    Give the guy a break. This is probably his first ROM that actually had some problems but only a few users are experiencing this. I'm not running his ROM at this current moment, but I'm sure he worked really hard on it. Its the effort that counts, and Pete will bring us the real cake once he figures out whats wrong.

    I mean, it's Pete. Hes been working for us ever since 2.0. And the best part? Hes doing it for free so we have NO right whatsoever to complain.
     

Share This Page

Loading...