1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support BB Plan / BIS on Desire HD?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ColtD, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. ColtD

    ColtD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Is it possible to use a BB Plan / BIS on my DHD?

    I have searched quite a bit about it, and there are guys who have been able to do this for their Nexus and Desire.

    Are there any settings that must be changed on my DHD to do this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    You can use the data plan but you won't be able to make use of the BB APN which is what makes BB data plans different from other data plans. You won't notice any difference without access to that APN. It's only used by BB's. Think of BB data plans as a super set of "regular" data plans.
     
  3. ColtD

    ColtD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I don't understand. I can use it, but do I still get "Unlimited Internet Browsing" or not?

    Other Desire owners claim they make use of the "Unlimited Internet Browsing" of the BIS for their Desire.
     
  4. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    I'm very confused. What are you trying to accomplish at the end of the day? Email on your phone? An unlimited data plan for browsing the web?
     
  5. ColtD

    ColtD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    An unlimited data plan.
     
  6. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    By "use it" I mean it works. If it wouldn't work, I'd say that you could not use it. How would you use something that doesn't work? :thinking:

    The device doesn't change the data plan limitations.
     
  7. ColtD

    ColtD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    OK. I understand what you are saying.

    I borrowed my friends sim which has BIS.
    For some reason, my phone has a problem picking up signal on his sim.

    My phone is unlocked. It was bought from Vodafone, and I have been using my Virgin Mobile sim since the day I got it.

    Do any settings need to be changed on my DHD to use the "Unlimited Data" from "BIS"?
     

Share This Page

Loading...