1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Beautiful Widgets not working on my note2?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sean76, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,459
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,459
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    So just got my note 2 and I'm trying to set everything up and for some reason the geo location is not working with Beautiful Widgets?

    It just keeps searching and searching, but can't pick up my location. I tried it with both the GPS on and off with Google locations turned on. Have no problem with my nexus 4 and this widget! Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    I had the same problem and tried everything with no luck. I did find HD Widgets in the marketplace. I have installed it, like it better and the geo location is spot on no matter where I go. Been running it for about a month with no problems at all. Good luck.
     
  3. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    Echo that. HD Widgets is the way to go, hands down. No problems with location (actually, better than the Sammy clock/weather widget in terms of updating)
     
  4. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    HD Widgets actually drills down the location damn near to a neighborhood level. Pretty impressive.
     
  5. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,459
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,459
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Thanks guys....I will give HD a try.
     
  6. mygt8a4re

    mygt8a4re Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Bradenton, Fl
    Another HD widgets user here on a N2. I also had trouble w/ BW and switched to HDW a few weeks ago with great results!
     
  7. potterdood

    potterdood Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    567
    26
    68
    Male
    Verizon Wireless Tech Support
    Anderson, SC
    I use beautiful widgets and have had minor problems with it. When I had the issue with gps, I just left it alone and it started working again properly after a few minutes.
     
  8. ZombieDonna

    ZombieDonna Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I've had a problem with BW since they did their last redesign/update. Geo-location doesn't work at all and the weather app doesn't update automatically anymore. Thanks for the suggestion of HD Widgets - I will try that now!
     
  9. donas

    donas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    173
    23
    38
    Ive been using BW for a month or so without issue. Could it be a setting issue?
     
  10. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    There are three weather choices within HD Widgets, Accuweather, Weather Bug and Weather Underground. I find the when I chose Accuweather the geo location is more accurate and really down to a very tight location. Try all three and see, but for me Accuweather setting has worked very well with the geo location
     
  11. karma2burn

    karma2burn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    170
    7
    36
    I had the same issue. I tried a few things and nothing fixed it. Then after 20 min it just started to miraculously started to work. I had the same issue on my wife's droid razr maxx.
     
  12. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Interesting. I'm using Beautiful Widgets on my Widgetlocker lockscreen and I haven't noticed any issues with it.

    I got HD Widgets for free (can't remember when) and I like some of the formats, but I find it a little limited as far as customization of look/theme is concerned, compared to Beautiful Widgets.
     

Share This Page

Loading...