1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Bedside

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by crackertc, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. soulesschild

    soulesschild Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    5
    56
    Sounds like an interesting app, will keep my eyes on this one.
     

    Advertisement

  2. (G)

    (G) Android Expert
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    751
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Ok, here's probably the dumbest question of the century: I understand Bedside stops email and SMS notifications from coming through, but allows the phone to ring.

    What about the alarm? Will Bedside allow the system alarm clock or a calendar alarm to ring?
     
  3. av84doh

    av84doh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    This is exactly what is going on with mine. I should be able to put it in the dock, have bedside come on, and then when I take it out of the dock bedside should turn off. This is not happening. Bedside is staying on and my phone calls are staying silent. Please look into this. There is also something causing all my home screen to go blank (all icons, widgets, and shortcuts disappear). I'm not sure if it's bedside but it's been happening lately. I can get them to reappear after turning the phone off then back on. Thank you!
     
  4. ldougherty

    ldougherty Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    78
    1
    16
    crackertc, any update on my droid issue?
     
  5. lj3287

    lj3287 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi

    I'm new to this just had my hero for xmas, have tried to search for this app in market place. no joy! Can someone walk me through it, is it still available?
     
  6. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    Hey, sorry to say that Bedside 3.x is not available for the Hero.
    HTC Hero have Android 1.5 which is an "outdated" version of Android. Most devices have 1.6, 2.0 and 2.0.1. Those other versions are fully supported but they were many changes between 1.5 and 1.6 that I can't really support it all together.

    Is confirmed that HTC will update all their Android devices to 2.1 very soon, so hang tight and Bedside will be available for you, maybe even including the newest version 3.1 that will have many new features like better scheduling, and calls whitelists.
     
  7. johflo88

    johflo88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    202
    1
    36
    thanks man,I wil! :D
     
  8. pizzachef

    pizzachef Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    54
    0
    15
    New Cumberland, PA
    I think you're exaggerating things a bit. The Droid has 2.0 (2.0.1?) and the MyTouch has 1.6? What other phones have an updated OS? Does the G1 have an official updated OS? Both Sprint phones and one of the two Verizon phones are 1.5. I know updates are supposed to be coming, but its misleading to say that most phones have more current software.
     
  9. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    Maybe I said it in a wrong way, but what I meant to really say is that most phones are running 1.6 and up, which in fact, is way more current that 1.5.

    I understand some devices are still on 1.6 because it was release less than 6 months ago or so, but 1.5 was release in what, February? Almost a year ago. I also understand the time it has taken manufacturers to update these devices to 1.6, or even 2.x, but at this moment, its just too long.

    The biggest problem is that there were many changes in the SDK between 1.5 and 1.6.
     
  10. ldougherty

    ldougherty Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    78
    1
    16
    Did you not read my questions? I really need an answer otherwise I'll have to stop using Bedside.
     
  11. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    Sorry about that, I missed a bunch of threats since I only got one email.

    First, disable the auto-start/auto-end and auto-unlock options from the preferences. They are not working correctly, I am fully aware of that and I'm currently doing some tests with a user with a Droid with a "new version" that fixes these issues. It's going to be 3.0.5.

    3.1 is the "new version" I've been planning to release, but haven't been able to.

    So, for now, disable those options, and just exit Bedside normally as you would exit any other app. Auto-start will keep working when you plug it on the dock, the only option that will not work completely is auto-end, I will try to push 3.0.5 to the market very soon, that should fix those problems.

    Thanks, and if you have any future concerns or questions please email me at velazcod+android@gmail.com
     
  12. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    Yes it will, the alarm uses a different sound "stream". Bedside only stops the notifications stream, the multimedia (music) and alarm streams are not touched.

    People have reported to me that the alarm doesn't work on custom roms while on Bedside. So if your phone is rooted, and the alarm doesn't work I can't guarantee that it will. It works perfectly on untouched firmwares, and the only other rom I have tested it against is cyanogenMod, other than that, please test before.
     
  13. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    The issue with the dock is being fixed soon, sorry about that, I have no way to test dock issues myself and I have to depend on other people to help me with this, sometimes not doing a good job for me, but I figured it out, the new 3.0.5 version is being tested and should be out VERY soon.
     
  14. pizzachef

    pizzachef Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    54
    0
    15
    New Cumberland, PA
    It seems like the trouble is 1.6 and 2.0 were released too close together, and the manufacturers that might have had 1.6 updates in the works scrapped their plans to start working on the 2.0 updates. But you're right...waiting over 6 months for an update seems excessive...especially when Google is constantly pumping out updates.
     
  15. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    That's correct, and even worse that Google made so many changes in the kernel that requires manufacturers to write new drivers for devices that need to run 2.x. It's a bunch of things together, but still, they need to be faster.
     
  16. ldougherty

    ldougherty Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    78
    1
    16
    Thanks, I'll be awaiting the new version.
     
  17. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    no problem, and again, big apologies for missing those replies above.
     
  18. merrill77

    merrill77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009

    Jan 16, 2009
    45
    4
    16
    I'm having trouble with this on droid. I'm trying to make Beside not be the default anymore. I can find the "Multimedia station" app, but the "clear defaults" button is disabled. I've tried "clear data", but that did not help. After that, I tried restarting the droid...again no change.

    Any ideas?
    Chris
     
  19. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    You have to follow all those steps but instead of looking for Multimedia Dock look for Bedside and clear defaults. That should clear the intent defaults and ask you what do you want to do when the phone is docked, then you can select the Multimedia Docn or any other choice. The defaults are saved on the application you choose and mark as default.

    Can I ask why are you doing this? Are you having certain problems on Bedside or you just don't like it?

    Thanks
     
  20. merrill77

    merrill77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009

    Jan 16, 2009
    45
    4
    16
    First I tried uninstalling Bedside...which then caused the default dock app to start when I docked. When I got your message, I tried re-installing Bedside and then clearing the defaults, but the "clear defaults" button is disabled :( So now it starts Bedside and when I exit bedside, it is showing the "what do you want to start" app. So now I have to push the exit button twice. Doh! :(

    Two reasons: (1) I have two docks - one at home on the nightstand and one on my desk at work. Since I might dock a dozen or more times per day at the office, I don't want bedside starting every time and then me having to cancel it. In fact I want _nothing_ to start...so removing the magnet on the dock is probably the answer for this problem. (2) I've found that even with the screen settings really dark, the silly soft-button lights on the droid are too bright and nobody seems to know how to turn them off. Thanks moto!

    Ideally, I would really like two different apps to start, depending on which dock it is in - bedside (with soft-button lights disabled) on the home dock and I'd like my desk dock to open a particular home screen. I'm using Home++...I need to ping them with that feature.
     
  21. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    Yes, it's a known issue that Bedside "double starts" when using the Dock, to "fix" it, go into Bedside and scroll down to the "Auto-start" option, DISABLE it, that should fix that problem and just let you show what you want to do.


    I know! They need to come up with an update to fix this, all other phones turn those lights off when the screen dims or times out (screen settings), except for the Droid, some people say its a feature, and most others (including me) say its a bug. Some guys at moto said they were going to fix it when 2.0.1 came along... they didn't..


    Yup, they just need to implement an intent receiver in their application, 3 lines of code and it will show up in that list, its really easy.

    and yes, I understand what you are saying, it would be great if docks had IDs so you can identify and based on what dock, make different actions. If that was available I would even implement a feature in Bedside that will let you change all the settings based on what dock it's on (notifications, brightness, etc.)

    Thanks man
     
  22. merrill77

    merrill77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009

    Jan 16, 2009
    45
    4
    16
    Thanks, that fixed it! I must have done that when I first purchased Bedside (the day I got my droid, IIRC), but forgot about it :(


    Hmmm...don't know if that is good or bad? If they said they were going to fix it, which implies it _can_ be fixed...good news. If they didn't fix it because they discovered it can't be fixed (i.e. it is not software controllable), then I guess it is bad news :( I'll keep hoping...

    Chris
     
  23. crackertc

    crackertc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    107
    1
    36
    If its hardware controlled, then that would suck and would make no sense at all. I'm pretty sure they can fix it, just haven't had enough complains from users, the thing is that they don't have some place to get requests like this, I knew this because of some guy in motorola that TOLD me they were aware and that it should be fixed..

    I tried opening an issue report on Android, and they closed it as "fixed". I just resubmitted a new one.

    Issue 5853 - android - Softbuttons lights on the Droid stay on while charging - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Please add a comment on it to support my statement.
    Thanks
     
  24. abhiroopb

    abhiroopb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    83
    0
    15
    Whenever I receive a new SMS or message on WhatsApp (or presumably any kind of "popup" message) Bedside turns of and the popup is visible. Because I have disabled screen time-out while bedside is turned on (Bedside has its own screen-timeout feature) the popup is displayed until I deal with it. Obviously this is not an ideal situation as it wastes a lot of battery.

    Bedside is supposed to block all these messages and popups and it used to do so before, it is only recently that they have been coming through. Not sure why this is the case.
     

Share This Page

Loading...