1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Behold 2 and Market

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ob1droid, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. ob1droid

    ob1droid Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    I'm working on my first full day with the Behold 2. One thing I noticed, coming from the Motorola Cliq is that some Market apps are not available for the B2. Since both phones run OS 1.5, anyone know the reason. For instance flightstats and taskpanel are absent. :mad::mad:

    Reasons and any way to get them?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mateo2

    mateo2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Important using the behold and i doubt this is true. Phone manufacturers have no control over the market.
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    actually the market has to auth with the firmware and google can take some time doing it
    when ever there is new firmware released for the galaxy googles paid apps go missing for about a week till google catches up with the new firmware
     
  4. tonyguy2000

    tonyguy2000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    78
    21
    18
     
  5. ob1droid

    ob1droid Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    So, I just need to keep checking the Market and they'll eventually appear?
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
     
  7. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
    The 'fingerprint' in the build.prop file contains the phone model, android version and build version. Google use a white list to figure out which software to display. If you're not on that whitelist then some apps will not display and only the default ones will.

    It takes some time for google to add new firmware fingerprints to their servers. Also remember the google cache on the phone also takes some time to expire. So other people on the same version may start seeing apps before you.

    Check over at the galaxy part of the forum. These phones are almost identical!
     
  8. ob1droid

    ob1droid Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    Thanks for the info. After a couple of days all the apps are appearing in the Market. Great phone.
     
  9. bigch0ps

    bigch0ps Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    49
    0
    15
    Union Sheet Metal Worker
    Queens, New York, U.S.A.
    My friend got a newer version of maps with turn by turn navigation on his mytouch. He said he downloaded it in the market. I dont see it also I thought this was for 2.0???:thinking:
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    theyve just enabled it for 1.6
     

Share This Page

Loading...