1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Best app do change Device ID on networks?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Papamalo, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. Papamalo

    Papamalo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #336
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    260
    33
    73
    Male
    Master of bunnies
    Oakland
    Looking for an app that I can use to change the ID numbers of android devices on my wifi network to actual readable names.
    I've seen several but am a newbie to the whole networking thing., Any ideas?
    Thanks.
    P
     

    Advertisement

  2. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #188
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    990
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    990
    308
    123
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    I am not sure what you are asking here... Where are you looking, in your router? Your router only knows MAC addresses, not names or even IP addresses (not directly, although DHCP might know a devices name.
     
  3. Papamalo

    Papamalo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #336
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    260
    33
    73
    Male
    Master of bunnies
    Oakland
    Thanks for your response. My network itself works fine. I wan't to be able to ASSIGN names to MAC numbers.

    My problem is this: IN my "connected devices" list on comcast's gateway, (Basically a glorified browser) unless someone has named their device, it only shows up on my network as a MAC number, and I can't remember them all by heart, and I'd rather not create an index (I did already) with whose MAC number is whose computer or device.

    Now on the other hand, on D-link's gateway, (Another glorified browser) I can rename any device on my network at will, so I can easily see that suzy is playing angry birds, or that bill is watching boxing, without having to refer to an index.
    I basically just want to put humans names to these MAC numbers easily.
    thanks!
    IB
     
  4. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #86
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,832
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,832
    1,459
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    You just need a decent router that allows you to assign names to devices.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  5. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #188
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    990
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    990
    308
    123
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    ^^^ This is the answer... Although it doesn't have to be a very spendy one. My Asus RT-N66U has this capability, and it's about $60 refurbished, for a good home router expect to pay $100-$200, and a high-end one will be even more. If you are paying less than $50 you should probably just stay with what you have.

    Your Comcast router is garbage, but it in bridge mode and get a REAL wireless router... You will be much better off.

    And FYI.. this isn't really a Moto X question, or even an Android question.
     
  6. Papamalo

    Papamalo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #336
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    260
    33
    73
    Male
    Master of bunnies
    Oakland
    Yikes! That's true! Sorry!
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,620
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,620
    22,106
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you

    Moved to the Computers/IT Thread ;)
     
    mikedt likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...