1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Best app to find and disable startup apps?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Grafx, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. Grafx

    Grafx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I have some non system apps which appear to load each time I turn on my phone. What app can show me which ones are loaded and how to disable them at start up?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Task Killers are a very bad idea. Download an app called Watchdog. It will sit silently in the background watching for apps that take up too much of your phones resources, and it will then give you the option of killing the app. If the same app repeatedly causes you an issue, you'll need to report it to the app author (otherwise they can't fix it).

    Taken from here:

     
  3. gvc

    gvc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    63
    19
    18
  4. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
     
  5. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    If that still doesn't work ,and your rooted(if not, gingerbreak is pretty easy,just make sure you have a freshly formated to default setting sd card,as it gets picky about that sometimes,and if it doesn't take the first try, try again)you can try App Quarantine. Select what you want to go into Quarantine one app at a time,press the menu key,select lock,and it moves it to Quarantine.I use this for the default browser and launcher.When I boot up the system goes straight to my launcher and when I need a browser it use's mine.I don't get the annoying box that makes me choose. This app should work on everything,just remember to do it one app at a time in case that app move messes up the system,you will know which one to move back.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...