1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Best/fastest/most stable Froyo ROM w/sense for Desire.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mcnob, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. mcnob

    mcnob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    215
    12
    58
    Basically, I've tried a few and they've all had their faults/bugs which I know is to be expected. I'm no expert at this stuff but I've been hearing about all kinds of ROMs and their good and bad points. Ideally, I'd like something that has the unnecessary junk removed but some handy apps in their place (a2sd+ on-board for instance).

    If anyone has user-feedback to offer along with direct links, I'm sure it won't just be me you're helping.

    Thanks muchly
     

    Advertisement

  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    I am using the neophyte rom & that is quick & stable.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=732246
     
  3. ivanzorkic

    ivanzorkic Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    58
    23
    38
    Illustrator, concept artist and UI designer
    Novi Sad, Serbia
  4. Ghâshûl

    Ghâshûl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    217
    11
    58
    Denmark
    I am quite happy with the Neophyte rom for now.
     
  5. mcnob

    mcnob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    215
    12
    58
    After a fair bit of hunting around I plumped for the Neophyte 1.4 ROM and I'm damn glad I did. Quadrant scores in excess of 1300 and everything's ticking along nicely. Cleared the battery cache at the same time so we'll see how that works out. Some handy extras in there too.

    Cheers.
     
  6. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    Just installed what looks to be the replacement for that as its made by neophyte.
    Called next sense 2.1b, based on official OTA froyo but its a lower score on quadrant at the moment
     
  7. joe998

    joe998 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    How did you clear the battery cache??

    Thanks
     
  8. beaverHausen

    beaverHausen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Can I ask how you're finding 2.1b?

    Does it have issues with market, facebook sync and green camera tinge?

    I've been on NeoPhytes 1.4 and think it's superb

    I've just downloaded 2.1b and upped my radio to v20 but looks like it's going to be tomoro before I get chance to run the ROM.
     
  9. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    Its not as quick on the quadrant score as the neophtye rom, but with the apps i put on the roms i had 50 mb left on the neophyte rom & i got 91mb left with the same on next sense.
    I am finding it great.
     
  10. mcnob

    mcnob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    215
    12
    58
    The option is found in the advanced section of recovery mod on recovery boot. Hold volume down while you turn phone on, go into recovery and its there somewhere.....lol
    This is on a rooted device of course.
     
  11. Tunga

    Tunga Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    174
    27
    43
    Yep, it's in ClockwordMod Recovery -> Advanced.
     
  12. mcnob

    mcnob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    215
    12
    58
    Yep, that's the name I couldn't remember at the time. Lol
     
  13. bloatedcow

    bloatedcow Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I've been using the neophyte 2.2 1.6 rom, and i have to say the battery life dramatically leaks, only a day of battery. any roms there that have a greater battery life?
     
  14. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    I am using next sense 3.4 got 112mb internal ram left with 24 apps installed & i got 90% battery & its been off charge since 3.10 this morning, thats with wifi, mobile internet & gps turned on.
     
  15. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    Use his 1.6 ROM, much better than his latest ROM.
     
  16. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    That is the rom the op is already using, also i used to use the neophyte rom myself & i get more free internal ram with next sense.
    I used to only have 51mb left with that rom with the same apps installed
     
  17. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    Does internal memory really matter with apps2sd?

    I find his original 1.6 ROM much better than his current one, and of course you can remove quite a lot of guff apps from his v1.6 ROm before you flash.

    I can't remember exactly but I deleted around 20 apps before flashing the ROM, saved plenty on the internal ram (not that it matters :D)
     
  18. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    Yes internal memory still matters, because you still install a small portion of the app to internal ram.
    Once internal ram gets low you wont be able to install more apps even if you have loads of ram left in your partition.
     
  19. Ghâshûl

    Ghâshûl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    217
    11
    58
    Denmark
    I have 102MB free internal memory on my Neophyte 1.6.
     
  20. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
  21. DjLukeW

    DjLukeW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    143
    25
    43
    Mobile Retail
    Chester
    LeeDroid 1.8

    Last charged it 11am yesterday. 31 hours ago with general usage. Quick rom and very stable with A2SD+
     
  22. Ghâshûl

    Ghâshûl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    217
    11
    58
    Denmark
    Yeah. I never checked how much I had under 1.4 though, so can't really compare about the difference with all the same apps.

    He said he's working on a 1.7 as well.
    Must be pretty time-consuming to juggle with two different mods :)
     
  23. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    287
    16
    38
    still running neophyte 1.6.. may try opendesire and get beautiful widgets off the market so i don't miss my widgets too much.. :)
     
  24. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
  25. Tevilspek

    Tevilspek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    6
    2
    6
    I'm running 1.4a still.
    I've actually had the phone do a full reboot (ie just restart on me) mid phonecall, and restart a couple of other times, as well as having it pop up 'enter SIM code' to unlock the SIM while being used as normal (to the point I had to turn off the option to enter the SIM pin).

    Anyone else had these issues with 1.4a? And/or think they might be fixed with 1.6?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...