1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Best GPS Back-tracker?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Glucklichste, Dec 5, 2010.

1. Glucklichste

Glucklichste Member

Nov 29, 2010
    I live in Alaska, and I often hike in the woods (the dogs love it!). There are a few places where it's weirdly easy to get lost, far away enough from anything that would help you know your orientation/direction.

I am new to Android (just got a Samsung Captivate), but so far I'm seeing parking type applications, that don't necessarily backtrack.

Is there any app that would really trace your same route backwards?

Straight line back to a starting point isn't practical in these situations! I've had dedicated GPS units that are rubbish when it comes to this, but I figure ... why not search/ask, if my phone could do this I'd be beyond thrilled.

Advertisement

2. AFAngryWarrior

AFAngryWarrior Android Enthusiast

Nov 10, 2009
    Male
    I.T. Systems and Networking
    Rochester, NY
    The best one I've used for hiking the Mountains in Utah is Backpacker GPS Trails. You can find it in the Appmarket for $9.99 but I think they have a lite version to try first.

3. picko

picko Member

Apr 10, 2010
    There's My Tracks which is free and there's Maverick both record your tracks so you can retrace your route.

4. Glucklichste

Glucklichste Member

Nov 29, 2010
    Thanks to both of you! I need to get better at searching for apps.

5. Benjie

Benjie Android Enthusiast

Jul 9, 2010
    Working and having fun
    Paradise
    If you are hiking in a remote area, you are better off with a standalone GPS, one that has the maps built in, et cetera.

6. Glucklichste

Glucklichste Member

Nov 29, 2010