1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Best keyboard ever

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Joehunni, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    To anyone who complains about keyboard lag, and/or wants to customize a keyboard check out Gimpsta.com, you'll be glad you did.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     

    Advertisement

  2. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    169
    3
    36
    So, this is an app that skins the HTC_IME keyboard from XDA?
     
  3. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    It's a kitchen for making your own skinned xda keyboard.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  4. Neo31697

    Neo31697 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    My only question is why does the file for that keyboard have to be so large over 5mb when smart keyboard is bearly 500 kb(i think not exact)
     
  5. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    Is this for rooted phones only?
     
  6. wardfan

    wardfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    86
    4
    16
    Can't get it to work, tells me some signature error.
     
  7. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Don't have to be rooted, and once you install one you'll see why its so big, it has like a million different settings. And while I did really love smart keyboard pro, I for one have to have a dedicated comma key.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Also I visit the site straight from my phone, make sure you use the low res version not high res.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  9. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    624
    47
    68
    Martial Arts Instructor
    Michigan - Metro Detroit
    and the member name - login part?
     
  10. Naz927

    Naz927 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    49
    5
    16
    Yea, would love to try this out, but how do you get a username and password?
     
  11. Sixxx

    Sixxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Smartkeyboard Pro.

    High five!
     
  12. littlerichie29

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Just type in a username and password, and click register. Then follow the steps.
     
  13. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Yeah just register by picking a,username and password.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  14. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    I created a custom keyboard and it does not want to install. Tried it on my Hero and my friends Evo... Did anyone had any luck with thi?
     
  15. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    How did you installed it??? I tried to install it on my Hero and got an error: "There is a problem parsing the package."

    I tried it also on the Evo with the package installer and it does not even give it an option to install...
     
  16. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    I download it from the site, then I open up Astro file manager and find the apk and it installs it. I've probably made 20 of the keyboards and installed each with no problem. Also, Smartkeyboard pro is great but doesn't have a dedicated comma key, which I need.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...