1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Best Method to Upgrade MicroSD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drpotter2807, Dec 5, 2013.

  1. drpotter2807

    drpotter2807 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    222
    129
    88
    Deep South
    Is there a particular way I am supposed to do this? Can I just copy and paste to my desktop and then onto the new card?


    Going from a 32 to 64gb
     

    Advertisement

  2. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    171
    24
    38
    Male
    NY USA
    Yes, copy and paste is the way to do it.

    Sent from my LG-V500 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro
     
  4. AeolianReflex

    AeolianReflex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    436
    73
    63
    Male
    Southern California
    Riche101, what is the reason for not putting the sd card into the pc to transfer? I have done it that way many times without a problem. Do you mean to say that the sd needs to be formatted in the phone?
     
  5. Riche101

    Riche101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    739
    137
    113
    Male
    EarthCaust Photography, Volunteer, Enviromental Re
    UK- Edinburgh, Brazil - 2 hrs from Rio de Janeiro
    From what i understand its the best way as your pc mac etc may format it in a way that is not compatible with your whether it be fat32 etc
     
  6. Funderbolt

    Funderbolt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    221
    13
    38
    Male
    engineer
    Va
    Will an S4 see all of a 64GB SD card?
     
  7. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,768
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,768
    3,732
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    it should yes
     
  8. JaRN99

    JaRN99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #593
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    365
    42
    43
    I've been putting off doing this also. I have a Samsung 64g Pro to replace my SanDisk 16g. I've never done it & am worried I'm gonna screw something up...lol. Since my SanDisk card has been used in my previous 3 phones (all HTC models) I'm sure there's things on it I don't need anymore.
     
  9. AeolianReflex

    AeolianReflex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    436
    73
    63
    Male
    Southern California
    I see what you mean. I have transferred files both ways without problems as long as the card is formatted by the phone. There are two folders that get created when formatting on the phone and some functions such as apps to sd will crash the OS and restart the phone if they are not present.
     

Share This Page

Loading...